Lose 30 Pounds in One Afternoon!


How do you lose 30 pounds in one afternoon you ask? Well, a vigorous session of refashioning of course! Just take a look:

 

It’s amazing how wearing clothes that fit well can make all the difference in the world.

Let’s get busy working out our refashion muscles.

Gather up your workout gear and choose a thrift store dress.

This one happens to be a good brand name but way too huge and we have to get rid of all those unsightly gathers around the hip area.

Warm up by cutting away the skirt to create a new waistline. Then cut off the sleeves, pin the sides, and sew the new side seams.

Big breath in, big breath out…..

Now take it up a notch and take off all that extra fabric on the skirt by sewing new sides seams. Get those scissor muscles going and trim and trim.

Are you starting to feel thinner already? I am!

Be sure to keep breathing while you pin the bodice and the skirt.

Keep your right sides together.

Keep going, you can do it!

Put four small pleats in the front and gather in the back.

You’re almost there…..

Now feel the burn and cut the sleeves to the desired length.

Ready for the cool down now….. breathe in, breathe out…..and slowly, slowly pin and sew the sleeves back into the sleeve casing. Now slowly hem each sleeve….. stretch and breathe…..stretch and breathe.

YOU DID IT! 30 pounds lighter!!! In one afternoon.

I knew you could do it.

You might also like:

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've just recently joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Lose 30 Pounds in One Afternoon!

  1. That is super-cute, as always, Beth! And you always look so pretty in your refashions! :) I like your new tutorial links button, too . . . very clever, and very convenient for your fans! :)

  2. momoftwosalums says:

    That looks great!

  3. Ha ha I love it!
    Just came over from Refashion Co-op.

  4. prttynpnk says:

    Land’s End thanks you, whether they know it or not!

  5. Such a fun post, Beth, and another great refashion!

  6. mom2twinsx2 says:

    LOVE it, Beth!!! Can’t believe the difference in he before & after…amazing :) I have a full length red Coldwater Creek dress that is calling out for the same treatment – thanks for the inspiration (again)!

  7. Susan says:

    Remarkable! This is a darling dress, and so becoming after your refashioned.

  8. Cuckoo Chanel says:

    Love this!! Nice job.

  9. Kelly Y. says:

    I don’t know how you do it, but as always…this is awesome!

  10. Boomdeeadda says:

    That looks pretty on you!

  11. Thank you so much! I loved the fabric when I saw it in the thrift store. It’s even a little bit stretchy. Very forgiving.
    Beth

  12. This is so cute! I love the workout narration too (^_^). I have a thrifted dress begging to be refashioned. I think I’ll use your how to to get it done. Thank for sharing.

  13. bernieandi says:

    This refashion is brilliant. The altered dress looks amazing! I completely agree with you, a good fit is vital and really does make all the difference in the world.!

    • Good Morning, Bernie!
      A good fit is the exact reason that I got into this fun refashioning thing. I could never find clothes that fit me properly. Even sewing for myself using patterns wasn’t a sure thing. So I went on a quest to learn to sew to fit my body and here I am, having the time of my life! (And finally wearing clothes that fit)
      Enjoy your Sunday!
      Beth

  14. vanessa vandusen says:

    AWESOME!!!

  15. alicecarman says:

    I wish someone would make this for me. I have a problem area like the belly area and this dress will help with that. Great job!

  16. It turned out fabulous! Love it!

  17. carolym says:

    Oh my goodness! I bought this exact dress at the thrift store last week for .25¢!! The elastic on the waist was stretched out and the dress is too big. I bought it to refashion it but wasn’t sure where to start. Thank you so much for your tutorial and idea!!

  18. Lisa Prowell says:

    Where did you get those red shoes in your business card photo at the beginning of your pin? They are too cute and would go with so many dresses. . . thank you. Lisa P.

    • Hi Lisa,
      Aren’t those the best shoes!!! I love them, too. I actually got them at a consignment shop and wore them to my daughter’s wedding. People ask about them all the time. They are Fioni. Someone told me they found a pair on Ebay. Maybe worth a try?
      Have a great day!
      Beth

  19. amanda says:

    I have this dress which I have worn exactly once because it doesn’t fit right. It is next on my cutting table! Thanks for the inspiration!

  20. An says:

    This makes me happy. I often find beautiful plus-plus dresses in thrift store but they are bigger that my plus-sized body so I do not buy them since having them repaired is costly. But this gives me an idea how to do it.

Your comments make me happy!

