DIY: Sweater Mitten Tutorial and Enter to Win a Pair of Smittens


 Really, I need to stop now.

This mitten making craze I’m on is getting ridiculous! You need to be careful what you wear around me. Be very, very careful. Each sweater I lay my eyes on these days becomes a potential mitten fantasy to me. While you think I’m talking about your elf on the shelf adventures, I’m most likely envisioning myself cutting up your sweater to make more SMITTENS!!!! You can’t say you haven’t been warned.

There, I said it.

They say, that’s the first step to recovery. Right? Ahhhh, but so many sweaters, so little time.

            Speaking of so little time, I don’t mean to alarm you, but, there are only twenty days left to make all those holiday gifts. So, as I promised, to make it a little easier on all you do-it-yourselfers, and as my gift to you, I’m going to bring you tutorials for quick, easy and inexpensive DIY gifts throughout the month of December.

So naturally, what would this season be without a new and improved easy sweater mitten tutorial? And what would this post be without another giveaway?

ehow-mitten-tutorial24

First, gather up a couple of  (your own :)) preloved coordinating sweaters, a few buttons, and a little fleece.

ehow-mitten-tutorial1

Then click here to see the rest of the tutorial on my eHow post.

And to thank you, once again, for your continued encouragement and support, I’d like to give away a pair of “Smittens”. All you have to do is pin the eHow tutorial to one of your Pinterest boards and leave a comment over there. I will choose and announce the lucky winner on Saturday, December 14.

smittens4

Each time you take the time to make a comment and each time you pin one of my tutorials, you are giving me more than you will ever know.

Thank you soooooo much!!

Beth

we make a living by what we get

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've just recently joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to DIY: Sweater Mitten Tutorial and Enter to Win a Pair of Smittens

  1. Laura H. says:

    Love those! I’m going to have to add this project to my list – so cute!

  2. adaisygarden says:

    These are so cute! Great tutorial, too!

  3. Tricia Tarwater says:

    I’m SO glad you posted this! I was hoping you would share the tutorial but since you sell the smittens I wasn’t sure you would. Thank you for being so generous and sharing with us! I can’t wait to try this when my little guy naps today!

  4. MARY MOUGEOT says:

    You make me happy too, thanks!

  5. Courtney says:

    These are too adorable!! Why did you do this to me?!! I thought I was just about done making all of my Christmas gifts, but these are way too cute to pass up! I have to make them for someone!! Hmm….maybe I will just make them for myself! I love them!

  6. Liza Kirschner says:

    It is so wonderful and generous of you to share the pattern and tutorial! I can’t wait to try it! Thank you so much!

  7. Patti Martin says:

    OK, so I have my machine on the dining room table and my stack of sweaters next to it. You have me motivated to sew a few SMITTENS this weekend. Miss our days of crafting together!

  8. Anne Weaver says:

    Those are so cute! And look super warm, too!! I’ve linked to your tutorial over at Craft Gossip:
    http://sewing.craftgossip.com/tutorial-smittens-sweater-mittens/2013/12/05/
    –Anne

  9. Cara Olsen says:

    These are adorable, Beth. Your craftiness inspires me. :-)

  10. Jo H. says:

    Hee hee! I was just looking through MY sweaters last evening – sadly none of them were good candidates. Now I’m looking at the hubby’s side of the closet …

  11. sewexhausted says:

    There is a chill in the air today and just this morning I realized I wanted a pair of mittens! These are perfect!

  12. Kathy Gilliland says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this tutorial. I looooove mittens and a mittens are even better!!

    Sent from my iPad

  13. marie keller says:

    I share your addiction to upcycling. If someone asks me to mend something they usually have to tell me several times that I can’t cut it up. When I go to thrift stores my daughter knows I’m looking at the fabric not the clothing. I refuse to pay full price for fabric when I know there’s so much out there waiting for me.

  14. Char says:

    Do I get smittens for Christmas??? ;)

  15. Cori in WA (actually, in Texas now) says:

    Absolutely love it! School was cancelled for the day and I can’t imagine a more perfect way to spend my “free” time!

  16. boilermom27 says:

    gorgeous mittens, I pinned it!

  17. Candace Cox says:

    I thought I was a nerd because i’m often thinking of changing my old clothes into something new. My husband once remarked ” I get rid I’d my old clothing”, with an accusatory facial expression.
    However now I know I’m not “special”. Because others likevyou share my passion.
    Those are some awesome mits by the way!

  18. So cute. Pinned your tutorial, but I’d rather win a pair than make them. So pick me!

  19. JenniT says:

    Love, love, LOVE this one!!!!!! Can’t wait to try to make some!

  20. Sue says:

    I am smitten with Smittens! Thanks for the great tutorial.

  21. Mary says:

    These look so cute. I may have to try making some.

  22. Katie Whittington says:

    This are so cute! Now I have to find some old sweater! Pinning

  23. Pingback: And the Winner of the Smittens is……. | The Renegade Seamstress

  24. Do you have a similar one of these for slippers out of the same materials? or old fleece coats, blankets?
    THanks!

    • Hi Lenora,
      I haven’t done a slipper tutorial yet, but….. never say never! :)
      Happy Holidays!
      Beth

      • Lenora says:

        PLEASE< PLEASE<PLEASE we are not big gloves fans BUT we always keep our feet covered and we have 12 of them to cover in our house. Needless to say one of the pair is often missing. I would LOVe to see you do this!
        Thanks and Have Blessed New Year!

  25. Pingback: Winter Sweater Dress and Another Giveaway | The Renegade Seamstress

  26. Andie says:

    Thanks for this tutorial. Here’s a tip: check online to see if you have a “Goodwill Outlet” in your area. They sell BY THE POUND! You can get a bunch of sweaters for less than $10. It’s a great source for repurposing crafting. There’s a link to the list of their sites on my website: http://www.thegreenqueenofmod.com/WP/category/greenchoice/ Sadly, not every city has one.

  27. Andie says:

    And yes! A slipper tutorial please!

  28. These are so cute! Have pinned and hopefully one day will have time to make them!

Your comments make me happy!

