Kindle cover tutorial


If you’re one of the lucky millions of people who opened a Kindle Fire on Christmas morning, then this post is for you!

I used an old thrifted dress and some fabric my daughter chose from JoAnn Fabrics.

Cut a 10in. x 15 in. piece of fabric for your lining.

Cut a 10 in. x 15 in. piece of iron on interfacing and outside fabric.

Next, iron the interfacing onto one of the fabrics.

Place the pieces right sides together.

I used a plastic lid to trace a curved edge. Then cut the curve from all  three pieces.

Next, sew around all edges, leaving a 3 or 4 inch opening to pull it right side out.

Pull it right side out through the opening.

Iron all the edges.

Topstitch around all the edges.

Fold up the bottom edge to meet the top edge and topstitch down each edge.

Cut an inch long piece of some type of Velcro fastener sew on tape.

Sew it to the flap and the front of the cover so it will match. I should have done this step BEFORE I sewed up the sides. (My renegade sewing self is shining through here.)

Choose a button or a pin for the front and………

Wah-Lah, you’ve got a Kindle Cover! I hope Katie likes it!

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Refashioning, Thrifting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kindle cover tutorial

  1. Jan says:

    Thanks Beth, I think I will make one for my new Kindle, but, I think I will have to make one smaller.

  2. Judy says:

    Beth – all of your posts are so amazing. I don’t know how you find the time! I was just at a friend’s house last night and she showed me this incredible purses she made by felting sweaters and getting the accessories (straps, buttons…) from purses she bought at a thrift store. You two need to meet one day! Anyway I will send her a link to your site. Her name is Anne (from Ann Arbor) so easy to remember.
    Keep crafting – how cool is this! Even though you would never find me doing any of this – (as Michaela put it – “I really struck out in the arts/crafts mom department, it was a bit like being raised by two dads” ) – it is still so fun to see your creations.

    • Judy,
      That is so funny about the two dads thing!!!!
      Thanks for letting Anne know about the blog. I’d love to meet her and see her stuff! Does she have a blog or a website?
      Just talked to Karin on my webcam I got for Christmas. Do you have one, too?
      Love you!
      Beth

  3. Shey says:

    Hi Beth! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and all your kind comments, I remember this cute tutorial! I see you have lots of cute ideas too, I never thought about making a hat using a sweater, you are very creative. I feel so hobbled that you wish to feature me on your blog and yes I gladly accept. Thank you so much! =)

    • Oh good, I’m excited! You really are talented at refashioning! I’ll get some questions ready and email them to you. Then I’ll put some links to your blog in the feature article and in my sidebar.
      Talk to you soon!

  4. shannmark says:

    I want to make this! You have great ideas, thanks for sharing!

  5. Sandy says:

    Thanks for such a great tutorial. I searched all over the internet trying to find a simple, easy pattern and your fit the bill. Blogged about here:
    http://sandysewz.blogspot.com/2012/05/kindle-fire-case.html

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.