Hem those jeans in 15 minutes or less


If you’ve ever hemmed your jeans with a stapler (and you know who you are 🙂 ) then this tutorial is for you!

I couldn’t resist these Vigoss jeans from Maurices the other day. I know, I UNOFFICIALLY declared no new purchases, but the dark wash and white stitching lured me in.

The only problem………Whah…..Whah…..Whah…..

Too long. 😦

I want to keep all that nice white stitching, so instead of using staples, like I usually do (oops, did I say that out loud?) let’s do it the right way.

First, pin where you’d like the jeans to fall.

Next, measure from the top of the existing hem to the fold.

Cut that measurement in half, turn up the hem, measure the half distance and pin.

Using a zipper foot, stitch as close to the existing hem as possible.

Fold back and press with a steam iron.

And now you have just the right length with the original white stitching showing on the hem.

You  might also like:

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in DIY, Refashion, Refashioning, Sewing, Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Hem those jeans in 15 minutes or less

  1. Penny says:

    That’s pretty cleaver. Now what to do with all those staples I bought.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the tutorial. I would never have figured this out on my own!
    Debbie

  3. Anonymous says:

    This will look much better than double sided tape!

  4. Teresa says:

    Looks really good… I always wonder how it would really look sewn like that. No one will really notice the line!! Wonderful tutorial.

  5. Little Blue Mouse says:

    What a great idea!

  6. Cara Olsen says:

    Oh, Beth . . . why couldn’t we have ended up living closer to one another? I could make crafts for you, and you could improve my wardrobe by customizing the fit. If you are ever thinking of relocating, wanting some fun in the sun, Orange County is calling your name! 🙂

    Happy Wednesday, my friend!

  7. ReStitch Me says:

    A great fix for a super cute pair of jeans!

  8. Deann Campbell says:

    I have been hemming jeans like this for a few years….it’s the only way!!

  9. Rukmini Roy says:

    WOW! Super amazing. I love the outcome. Thanks for coming over and liking my post.
    XO.

  10. Cheryl Simser says:

    Brilliant! If the amount to turn up is too much, I suppose I could just cut it off rather than iron it up. Wonder what that would look like….

    • Cheryl, just iron it up first and wear it at least once that way to see if you like it before you cut it off. You might not need to do any cutting. Maybe just hand tack it on the seams.

  11. That’s a great tip!

  12. lostdododesigns says:

    Thanks for this post! I have always been baffled how to hem my jeans. Thankfully my best friend is a seamstress:) Looking at your photos and your simple step by step instructions I think I feel brave enough to tackle those jeans in the back of my closet. Thanks!

  13. From a 5’1″ and 3/4 (on a good day) reader, this post is priceless. Thank you.

  14. Pingback: Let Your Footwear Take Center Stage | The Renegade Seamstress

  15. Brenda says:

    I’ve bee sewing for sixty years and never knew that!

  16. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much. I just did this to a pair of silvers I have and it worked great. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Pingback: 29 Clothing Problems Every Short Girl Has | sooziQ

  18. Exhale says:

    Great idea – thanks for sharing! One question: if I don’t have a zipper foot what’s the next best to use? Thanks!

  19. Anonymous says:

    Do they need pressed after washing?

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.