DIY Blue Indigo Tie Dye Refashion


Tie dye is NOT just for summer camp anymore.

Believe it or not it’s actually being seen on the high fashion runways!

So I gathered up supplies, headed out to the yard, put a flower in my hair and got busy:

I ordered this kit from Amazon and it has almost everything you’ll need. The directions are excellent.

You end up with four gallons of dye that lasts for several days which will allow you to experiment with some effects to get just what you want.

The directions that come with the kit explains many fun ways to create different effects.

I’m going to show you one that isn’t included:

A gathering technique.

My old river dress was begging me for a refashion.

Still a great swim suit cover up, but it just needed a new lease on life.

Here’s what I did:

Then following the directions that come with the kit, prepare the fabrics, prepare the dye, and dip away!!!

Oops……

But for THIS I’ll dye my hands blue anytime!!!

I LOVE my new river dress!

Don’t be surprised if you see a few more tie dye posts coming up, I’ve still got a bucket of dye and I’m off to the thrift store to pick up every piece of white clothing I can find.

Stardust Coyote made these beautiful bags at the beginning of June which totally inspired me to try this. You should check out her site!

Here is a good chart with loads of folding techniques for tie dye:

Have fun and let me know if you try this. I’d love to see your projects!!!

If you liked this, you might want to check out some more easy DIY refashion tutorials on my tutorials page.

 

Thanks for visiting!!!

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing, Thrifting, Tutorial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to DIY Blue Indigo Tie Dye Refashion

  1. Jill says:

    Fabulous. Love your new river dress.

  2. Love your river dress! Looks like we may see lots of blue tie dyed in the future 🙂

    • Thanks, Sarah!
      I really want to make a maxi skirt with this. Or at least something I can wear to school. The river dress wouldn’t be the best in the classroom, but I want to wear it everyday for the rest of the summer. 🙂
      Beth

  3. I love tie dye! I learned how when I was probably 8 in Girl Scouts…………may be time to try it again. I need to make a tie dyed onesie for Rocket!

    • Thanks Kelli,
      If you try it, be sure to have some friends over or loads of things to dye because that kit makes ALOT!!! I think the indigo gives it such a fresh and modern look.
      Beth

  4. stardustcoyote says:

    Awesome!!! So glad you tried it out.. the blue hands are totally worth it! 🙂

  5. Mother Deer says:

    Love the finished dress…can’t wait to see more!

  6. Cathy says:

    Next time you tye dye call me! I can’t have enough! I love the dress!

  7. L-O-V-E!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  8. bigsmileu1 says:

    Wow! Your dress looks amazing! Great work and instructions for the rest of us to try. You look beautiful in your new dress. 🙂

  9. Love it!!! The color is so rich and deep. New follower!
    Jacki@redheadedmommy.com

  10. Eileen says:

    Loved your tie-dye refashions! I’m going to have to try that sewing/scrunching technique, I have that kit! Unfortunately, the link to the tying chart isn’t working – could you check for me? I’m always looking for new ways to scrunch, fold & tie! 🙂

  11. Karen Schulz says:

    I absolutely love the new look to the river dress. I would so wear that

  12. Mr. and Mrs. says:

    Awesome! Love the ideas. My poor thrift store won’t know whats happening to it when I get there and strip them of all their white shirts! lol

  13. Awesome post, again!!!!! Now this is inspiring. The first thing that came to mind, was white, boring bed sheets, coming alive!!!! Will have to try and I think the gathering stitch would be perfect!!! Love the river dress. One little problem….link to folding chart still not working..:(
    I love that no two pieces will ever be exactly the same…
    Thanks for sharing and PaPa Smurf would be proud of your hands. 🙂
    ~Louise

    • Hey Louise, sheets would be fabulous. I’m getting ready to update my bedroom and I was thinking of tie dying some white fabric with yellow for the Roman shades since the new colors are yellow and gray. As usual, the possibilities are endless!
      Beth

  14. Love! Was it a huge mess? Is this something I could do w/ my 7 year old or would my entire back yard end up tie dyed as well?

    • You do have to be careful, but I think the main thing is, to make sure there are no holes in the gloves and wear old clothes. I wouldn’t recommend a whole group of 7 year olds, but I bet just one would work fine. Have fun!
      Beth

  15. Boomdeeadda says:

    fun! I did a tye-dye party for a girlfriend a few years ago. I love that you can do it in the yard. I really like the denim dye for a mono-tone look too. You look like a cute little hippie chick at the river!

  16. kay says:

    http://clotheskays.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/diy-tie-dyeing-daisy-project.html
    I just came across you blog after posting my tie dye project hahaha i love all the different designs i so want to try some thanks. I don’t feel like i’m the only hippie now x
    Kay
    x

  17. Leilani says:

    Woweeeeewow! This is gorgeous! I thought the final result would look cheesy but instead it is chic and fabulous! Must try. 🙂

  18. Thanks, Leilani!
    I think the indigo really gives it a fresh and modern look!
    Beth

  19. Laurel says:

    That’s a perfect summer dress, well done!

  20. smoothpebble says:

    I’ve been wanting to use the indigo dye! This inspires me! The picture with the various results reminds of the effect you get when you use that sun print paper.

    • It’s so incredibly fun! I just had a couple of friends come over to help me use up the dye today and we had a blast! We were all so excited when we took off the rubber bands and string. It’s just like Christmas. Let me know how it turns out for you. I’d love to see pictures!
      Beth

  21. rosyragpatch says:

    It’s many years since I tried tie dye but I might have another go after seing your great results- thanks for the inspiration.

  22. alwaysinaweofyou says:

    Cathy said I should look at your blog for the tie dye envelopment’s. Wow! Great ideas and instructional tutors. How do you do it! See you at the QL

  23. Pingback: DIY: Indigo Tie Dye Maxi Skirt and Totebag | The Renegade Seamstress

  24. Pingback: Introducing: Kelli Davidson from Kelli’s Retro Kitchen Arts | The Renegade Seamstress

  25. Marcy hammerstein says:

    Really fabulous! Thank you!

  26. Pingback: 14 Cheap And Easy Ways To Refresh Your Wardrobe For Spring | Bringing the best news to the People

  27. Pingback: Jeobox – 14 Cheap And Easy Ways To Refresh Your Wardrobe For Spring

  28. Pingback: 春の間あなたのワードローブをよみがえらせる14の安くて簡単な方法 | これからは、このダイエットメニュー! 夏まで5キロ落としてモテる。モテメニュー!

  29. Pingback: 春の間あなたのワードローブをよみがえらせる14の安くて簡単な方法 | アメリカ発最新・最強フードレシピ!彼氏にモテるモテ料理特集!

  30. Pingback: 春の間あなたのワードローブをよみがえらせる14の安くて簡単な方法 | 健康に良い食事・悪い食事とは・・専門家が説明します!

  31. Pingback: 10 utilidades do micro-ondas que você nem imagina | Ninja Gordo Com Fritas!

  32. Pingback: Coisas interessantes que você pode fazer com o micro-ondas | F5 Paraná

  33. Pingback: 10 Types Of Hipsters You’ll Find in Ottawa | Cruel Buzz

  34. Pingback: 14 Cheap And Easy Ways To Refresh Your Wardrobe For Spring - encun

  35. Pingback: 14 Cheap And Easy Ways To Refresh Your Wardrobe For Spring | Viral Luxury

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.