Fingerless mittens from an old felted sweater


It’s that time of year again.

Football games, woodsmoke, falling leaves, and chilly days.

Perfect weather for some  fingerless mittens.

Lucky for me, someone donated this wool sweater to the thrift store because they washed it and thought it was ruined.

It is 100% wool which “felts” when washed and dried. The fibers become tight and won’t fray.

Cut off the bottom of the sleeve to the desired length of the mitten.

Make a paper pattern of your hand.

Turn the sleeve inside out and sew up the side to fit.

Then sew a triangular seam between the thumb and first finger.

Trim.

Turn it right side out.

Use a blanket stitch to finish off the edges.

Here’s a good tutorial to learn how to do the blanket stitch.

Now you’ve got some new stylish fingerless mittens to wear this fall.

Stay warm!!!

Beth

You might also like:

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Fingerless mittens from an old felted sweater

  1. mamacormier says:

    I can’t wait to try this.

  2. ooobop! says:

    That’s a great tute! Will keep eyes peeled for lovely wool jumpers!

  3. Mother Deer says:

    Very clever idea…you are so creative!

  4. Cara Olsen says:

    Oh Beth, how I regret that I am not on your Christmas list! I can only imagine all the beautiful little bric-a-brac your loved ones receive. I adore these gloves, everything about them — especially the color. That green is striking!

    • Thank you, Cara! You know, when I was about ten, my mom made the declaration that our Christmas would be a hand made one. Best. Christmas. Ever! Hands down! It was fun to see the gifts my uncrafty dad made. I distinctly remember each gift everyone received that year. I don’t always make things for gifts, but when I have the time, it’s one of my favorite things to do.
      Stay warm,
      Beth

  5. Cul de Sac says:

    Nice… I could do that, so much quicker than knitting them 😉

  6. ada says:

    Loved your idea plus the blanket stitch was a fine touch to the glove

    • Thanks, Ada. The edge was already finished because it was the edge of the sleeve. But it really needed something fun. If I was really ambitious, I could learn some more embroidery stitches and embellish the tops of the mittens.
      Stay warm!
      Beth

  7. Okay, this is my new favorite item of yours. I want them. I need them. I must have a pair. That’s two new favorites in one month. Gee, what’s up your sleeve (pun intended) next?
    Paula

  8. Lou's Labors says:

    I am going to pin this, so I remember to do it! Love this idea 🙂

  9. I usually just knit these from scratch, but this would be so much faster. Now, to find an old sweater I don’t mind cutting up ;). Thanks for the great idea.

  10. Erica says:

    So cosy, and what an easy tutorial to follow, will have to try this when we reach winter again here.

  11. How ingenious. I love this idea. I have a gray sweater that’s all balled up like the one you used. Maybe it’s destined to become a pair of fingerless mittens.

  12. Love seeing your different tutorials each week!
    You must spend ages doing all the work plus everything towards the blog!!
    Vicky

    • Thank you Vicky! Yes, sometimes its takes me longer to blog about the project than to actually make it. But it’s all fun to me.
      Happy Monday!
      Beth

      • Any advice on how to change the size of a waistband on a pair of jeans?? Have lost a bit of weight, especially around my waist so my jeans top are falling down, but everywhere else fits.
        Vicky

        • I’ve never done anything like that before but I wonder if you stretched a piece of wide elastic wide sewing it to the waistband in the back. Might just bring it in enough. Let me know what you end up doing. I’m curious myself.

          • Thalia says:

            To en-smallen the waist of jeans, you can take very sharp darts over the side seams. It’s less than ideal, because it’s lumpy and you need to cover with a belt.

            To properly reduce the waist measurement, you’d need to rip out the waistband, trim the side seams, and then restitch the waistband. Doesn’t work nicely because of the button and buttonhole, you can’t trim the end of the waistband to fit.

  13. Amy says:

    Too cute! Love that green

  14. My daughter would love these, instant gratification, now for a rummage in my husband’s closet

  15. Pingback: Ten Ways to Refashion a Sweater | The Renegade Seamstress

  16. Pingback: Felted wool clutch purse | The Renegade Seamstress

  17. Pingback: More Art and DIY Arm Warmers | mamacormier

  18. Pingback: Sweater Mitts | Coffee & Lilacs

  19. Peg Farrell says:

    I share everyone else’s feelings about how utterly clever, cute, and wonderful these are. Thank you so much for sharing. But what really caught my eye is the font you used for the “in picture” instructions — it’s wonderful! Would you mind sharing with us which font it is (and perhaps where you got it)? Many thanks!

  20. leighlott says:

    Going to go felt a sweater or two right now!

  21. Crystal says:

    My daughter has been asking me to crochet her some of these for a little while now, but really I’m not great at crocheting. This would be so much faster and would turn out so much cuter than me crocheting them.

  22. Thalia says:

    I used the arm of a felted sweater to make a doggie sweater. Since the sweater was fully fashioned, it had a shaped shoulder. I separated the body and arm seam, then cut straight across at approximately the elbow. I cut two little arm holes near the elbow end. The shaped shoulder portion covered his hips, while providing a cut-away around his belly so he could do his business.

    Now that I’m pondering this, the remainder of the sleeve from elbow to wrist, could provide the fingerless gloves. With matching blanket stitch on doggie sweater and fingerless gloves, you would have a very chic dog-walking outfit!

  23. Do you use the left-over of the sweater for something else? I have angora rabbits and am thinking I might make them sweaters to wear after their fall/winter shearing.

  24. Debbie G says:

    My wrists and hands get so COLD, and this will be a solution! Thank you!!!

  25. Dana G. says:

    Thank you for posting this! I run a living history group for teens and college girls, and we’ll be making these mitts (without the blanket stitch) at our meeting tonight so we’ll have “1860s wool mitts” to wear at our fall and winter events. (Some of us do not knit well enough to make the Godey’s patterns that usually get passed around.) 🙂
    Here’s how my pair came out. My sweater had a big section of ribbed turtleneck that made a cowl before the sweater shrank, and I used that section for my mitts. We’ll make another pair from the sleeves, and probably a third pair using the ribbing at the bottom of the sweater. 🙂

  26. Denise says:

    Hello! I love this project. I have only one question. What did you do with the rest of the sweater?

  27. Pingback: Easy No Sew Felt Purse | All Crafts

  28. Sue says:

    On Tuesday mornings I do check-in for my churches food distribution. As the mornings get colder I feel I need my fingers free but my hands warm. I have been looking for a good tutorial for finger free gloves. Thank you.

  29. Pingback: LIFE HACKS TO GET THE MOST OUT OF CLOTHES - Organising Chaos

  30. Jeanie James says:

    How did you finish the top of the mitten–the arm part?

  31. Pingback: Refashion Life Hacks: Get The Most Out Of Your Clothing

  32. Hazel Kalkofen says:

    Have you made any skirts with the different fabrics in different shapes that look like they were serged together?

  33. Pingback: Top 5 Warm & Cozy Sewing Tutorials For Winter - Half-Arsed Crafts

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.