Let Your Footwear Take Center Stage


I love shoes!

Flats. Wedges. Heels. Pumps. Sandals. Boots.

I love them all!

Let your footwear take center stage by refashioning some of your bootcut jeans into skinnies. Believe me, your shoes will thank you.

First, cut the jeans to your desired length. (If you’d like to keep the original hem, check out this tutorial on hemming jeans)

Put your jeans on inside out and pin the new seams.

Sew along your pin lines and hem. Easy as 1,2,3!

You might also like:

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Let Your Footwear Take Center Stage

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Perfect timing! I need to do this on several pairs of unfortunate boot cut!

  2. I love this idea. I always enjoy your posted, thanks for sharing!

  3. alicecarman says:

    I love the boot cut look on me since I’m chubby, but this is great for some of those older pairs of boot cuts that I may want to alter.

  4. adaisygarden says:

    Off to the sewing machine!

  5. ooobop! says:

    I have got out of the habit of wearing jeans. Used to wear them day in day out. But this tute is worth scouring the charity shops for an unfortunate pair of flares! Thanks, Beth 🙂

  6. AHomemakersHome says:

    More nice shoes!

  7. Such a cleaner, more sophisticated look. Thanks for sharing!
    ~Louise

  8. joen says:

    Great idea! I going to give this a try

  9. Lori says:

    I’m going to try this on a pair of dress slacks that are too short for me…. make me a pair of “ankle trousers” – very in right now and this will be so easy! Beth, I love your posts. Even though I’ve never been a fan of sewing, you make me want to get out my old sewing machine!! Thanks! 🙂

  10. ginnyazile says:

    This is awesome. I am doing this tomorrow!

  11. Orla Walsh says:

    Fantastic tutorials. Do you mind me asking if you need an overlocker to carry out these alterations? Thanks! 🙂

  12. Jane says:

    Question: how did you take of you jeans once pinned to fit ‘skinny’?

  13. Amanda says:

    I need to do this to several pairs of my jeans.

    My only question: Do you just sew along your pins, and leave the extra material there? Do the “flappies” bother your legs? Weird question I know, but I’m just wondering if it’s noticeable while wearing the pants.

  14. Amy says:

    Loved reading through your tutorials. One question on this one: I really like the heavier looking hem on the inside of my jeans. They’re boot cut to begin with so there’s not a TON of material I’m getting rid of and I was wondering if it would mess things up to maintain that original inside seam and just pin the one side (it creates somewhat less of a straight line down that side). I’m too much of a newbie with sewing to be able to foresee potential problems with that method.

    Any thoughts? Thanks!

  15. Joy says:

    I just stumbled across your site today and I live it!! I did this for a few ladies last summer at work 🙂 It’s really easy 🙂

  16. Anonymous says:

    I just read through your instructions and though I have not tried it with jeans, but my dress pants turned out perfectly skinny…but I’m always looking for shortcuts so I only sewed on the outside of the leg and there was no twisting of the fabric. Happy sewing

  17. Jessi says:

    I tried this and pinned one side, the outside, and then pinned and ditched but ended up with a sort of pocket where the new seam meets the old since the fabric got turned inside. How do I fix this? I pinned and hand see (no machine available) and then tried them on and got a little pocket thing which doesn’t look good. Any ideas? I feel like I did as the directions said.

    Any help would be great,
    Jessi

  18. Karli says:

    Can this work if I do not need to take off any length? I have a pair of boot cut that shrank but would be the perfect length for some skinny jeans.

  19. Michelle Delgadillo says:

    Hi Beth! I have been a fan of yours for some time now! I’m on your email list and love it when those come in! I took part in your refashion Webinar & got a bit more confident. I LOVE what you’ve done to clothes and I too want to do that. So, with the jeans – how did you hem the ones you cut off? 1 fold or two? I watched your other hem without cutting the bottom off ~ that was very useful to me as well. Jean hems are not the easiest to sew so if you can offer some suggestions on the bottom hem, I’d be ever grateful! Thanks!

  20. Maxine says:

    I have a pair of jeans and a pair of lined white dressy pants I’ve been wanting to make into ‘skinnies’ but I was afraid. You detailed what I thought would work so now I feel way more confident and plan to do this. I was glad to hear the comments on seaming one side as opposed to both sides. I had thought of that approach too … now I think I’ll play it safe and go with two. Love your site. 🙂 I will be back!!

  21. Millennial Miss says:

    I am so happy I found this! I now have a large pile of jeans waiting to go from straight and flare (yes, flare) to bootcut and skinny jeans!!

  22. Cindy says:

    I have just thrown away a pair of dress pants that are too big for me now. I think I can make them into ankle pants with this since they do not have pockets. Anyway, I am going to grab them out of the trash! Thanks!

  23. Steph says:

    Question: I am a relatively new seamstress in training, can I do this on polyester pants with a regular sewing machine and not a serger?

  24. Gracie says:

    Hello. First, love all of your creations and I can honestly say you have inspired me to try sewing and definitely recreating and altering my own wardrobe. I am wondering, any tips on how I can pin the jeans myself?

    • Thank you so much Gracie! You’ve definitely brightened my day! I’ve tried to think of a good way to pin all by yourself and the only thing I can think of is to put them on inside out reach down and look in the mirror and pinch it together wear you want it to be and use safety pins or draw a line. Take them off and finish with the safety pins. Put them back on again and check to see if they fit. You might have to do this a time or two but the results are totally worth it.

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.