About the Woodlands I Will Go


About the woodlands I will go
To see the cherry hung with snow.

A.E. Housman

mountain ash

I am a snow person.

Always hoping for that one big snow fall. The one that quickly covers everything with white so deep that everything is forced to slow down. The one that closes stores and knocks out electricity.

I am so ready for it.

Winter storm warnings roll my socks up and down. Last week, they predicted ten to twenty inches of snow. I was secretly thrilled. Finally! The big one! It’s here! I knew all that canning would come in handy someday. Fire up the wood stove, get out the Yatzee game and make some hot chocolate. Let ‘er fall!

I jumped out of bed on Saturday morning fantasizing about sewing all day with a backdrop of the white fluffy stuff coming down, wood stove blazing, and celtic tunes blaring in the background.

I wasn’t disappointed. The fire kept me warm and it did snow most of the day. Not ten to twenty inches, but enough to cover up all the brown and inspire me to refashion another sweater dress for Brooke.

I thought the pattern and texture of this gray and yellow thrift store sweater would make a nice little girl’s sweater dress.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Here’s how:

Use a shirt for a pattern.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Cut off the sides and the sleeves. Put some water on the wood stove.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Right sides together and starting at the bottom, sew up the sides of the sweater. Make some hot cocoa.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Cut the sleeves to fit. Sip your cocoa.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Turn the sleeve inside out and sew up the side to fit. Trim off the extra fabric. Put some more wood on the fire.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Cut the top of the sleeve for a shoulder. Sip more cocoa.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Right sides together, pin and sew the sleeves back into the armhole. Eat the cocoa soaked marshmallow.

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

Sit back and enjoy watching the snow fall.

Refashion Sweater Dress Tutorial

Refashion Sweater Dress Tutorial

Refashioned Sweater Dress Tutorial

You might also like:

Ten Ways to Refashion a Sweater

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to About the Woodlands I Will Go

  1. Jo H. says:

    These little sweater dresses you’ve been making for your little chicky are so cozy looking!

  2. Marty Frasier says:

    I also love the snow. Either the ones that keep us home, or even the ones where we stumble into work and the students stay home! The quiet light of a storm in the middle of the night. I miss the winters of the 1980’s.

  3. CherryPix says:

    Just lovely! The sweet girl, the warm sweater dress and the snow on cherries!

  4. fiammisday says:

    This is fantastic!!! Love it!!!!

  5. No snow in our area yet this season. Another fun post.

  6. adaisygarden says:

    Amazing! This looks like it was originally made this way. She looks beautiful in it!! Great job!

  7. I love everything about this post! 🙂

  8. You sound just like my husband and Curly Cutie when it comes to the snow. They live for it! I on the other hand do not. Gotta have my sun. I’m glad you enjoy it and were able to do something you absolutely love as it fell. The dress is super cute!

    • Thank you so much. I’m a skier and love getting up into the mountains in the winter. Sometimes it’s cloudy down here and up at the ski resort it’s sunny. Now THAT’S a win win situation in my book! Thanks for your comments, they really mean a lot!
      Beth

  9. Mother Deer says:

    I admire your ability to find a discarded garment and have the vision of what it should become. Having such an adorable model doesn’t hurt either 🙂

  10. So darn cute Beth! The last picture is even cuter than the dress 🙂
    Paula

  11. Sharon Lanham says:

    I’d love to try this. Now if only my kids would get married and have kids.

  12. Adorable! And, the dress is too.

  13. Lili & Mum's says:

    Cute! I especially like your additional instructions for cocoa. I’ll have to remember these sweater refashions someday. The snow is beautiful too!

  14. I LOVE THIS! I am so going to try this down the line and when I do I’ll link up and let you know how it goes.

  15. ooobop! says:

    Oh so beautiful. You make it look so effortless. x

  16. cathynd95 says:

    So sew cute!! I can’t wait for my great nieces to et old enough for me to make them dresses like these!

  17. Barb says:

    One of my favorites that you’ve made. I love those little dresses, and especially enjoy seeing Brooke model them. I also love the snow. I love how everyone slows down and accepts every one else being slower, like not really stopping at a stop sign when the traffic permits you to just go on through and not risk stopping becuase you might slide. Everything seems a little slower more tolerant somehow. Yes, and then there is the mental permission to sit and work on a project in the house because you are “house bound” (thankfully) for a short time. Thanks for your post. Loved the little poem and photo of the snow on the tree.

  18. Thanks, Barb! Nothing like being “stranded” in your own house with your family during a big snow. I was actually jealous when my brother told me they got 18 inches of snow last weekend. Here’s to at least one Snow Day this winter!!! 🙂

  19. So cute!!! And clever, to!!!

  20. Pingback: Ten Ways to Refashion a Sweater | The Renegade Seamstress

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.