DIY: Quick Cropped Sweater


They were right, it WAS my kind of candy store!!!

I just spent the last two hours tasting the patterns on the BurdaStyle site. I’ve had little samples of their sweetness before, through other sewing blogs, but never have I actually binged on the absolute deliciousness of it all like I did this morning. I’d need three lifetimes to complete all the projects I’d like to try and there are still twenty more pages of patterns to sample. Good thing it’s Spring Break because I think you might just be seeing a completed BurdaStyle project in the near future.

For today, here’s a quick sweater refashion:

This cute little sweater has been in my stash forever. I keep trying it on to wear with different outfits, because I love the color and all the fun button details.

Dress and Denim Refashion Tutorial

But each time I was disappointed because of the fit. It was too long, too wide and the ribbing hit me in a strange place. So when trying to find something to wear with my striped dress yesterday, I decided to crop this to a better length.

Dress and Denim Refashion Tutorial

cropped sweater refashion

Dress and Denim Refashion Tutorial

Dress and Denim Refashion Tutorial

Now it hits me in a much more flattering place and I’ll be able to wear it with so many things.

cropped sweater refashion

Just a little reminder, I AM a Kindergarten teacher…….:)

cropped sweater refashion

You might also like:

Easy DIY Refashion Tutorials 3

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to DIY: Quick Cropped Sweater

  1. Joyce Love says:

    Very cute! Just wanted to let you know, I found a Gap 100% cotton sweater at Goodwill this week that, thanks to reading your blog I can totally envision as a skirt! Now I just have to get around to refashioning it!

  2. Such a pretty color! I know what you mean about it having to hit at just the right place.

  3. stitchknit says:

    re-doing is more fun to me than making something from scratch. The whole process seems more creative to me! Love your blog, will be checking in again!

  4. Thought you were going to wear it with jeans and nothing to cover your midriff – chicken! 🙂

  5. Patti says:

    I just found your blog a couple of weeks ago and I am in love with it. You have taught me to look at clothing in a whole new way. Your tutorials are simple and easy to follow. I am making my way back into your archives and I am having a blast. Thank You!!!!

  6. cathynd95 says:

    You are SO inspiriing!

  7. vjstracener says:

    That sweater is cute. I found a pink cardigan that I just don’t know what to do with. You have given the inspiration to find a use.

  8. BeingZhenya says:

    Kindergarden is the best grade to teach! Love your sweater 🙂
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

    • I agree, Zhenya! I’ve taught kindergarten, first, second and third grades and kindergarten is by far my favorite. (Of course, every time I change grade levels, my new grade is my favorite, so I guess I just love to teach 🙂 )
      Hope things have warmed up a bit for you!
      Beth

  9. Jo H. says:

    I just smiled and smiled when I saw your dotted tights and read your reminder!

    Cute sweater; so nice you can enjoy wearing it now. I love the buttons, too!

  10. Pingback: No Sew Infinity Scarf-Dress for Change-Day One | The Renegade Seamstress

  11. Lynn says:

    I love your site! I am always checking it to see what idea you have come up with. I am trying to get as many ideas as I can to show my orphan kids in Africa. Some of them are learning to sew and I thought with as many used clothing they have to deal with, what a wonderful way to inspire them! I am hoping to go back probably in December again. Thank you so much for the many ideas you share. I will try to share some of them with the kids at Umoja Children’s Home in Bomet, Africa. Lynn

  12. Pingback: Dress For Change- Day Three | The Renegade Seamstress

  13. Deauna says:

    This is so cool. I wish I had seen this post before I tossed a bell-sleeved cropped sweater. I could have been inspired to do something with it!

    • Thank you Deauna! Since I started refashioning, there are so many things I regret getting rid of. Now I know what I could’ve done to make them more wearable. Oh well, I feel better knowing maybe someone somewhere was happy to receive them. Have a wonderful day!
      Beth

  14. Linda Polman says:

    I just recently found your blog and find it very inspiring. 🙂

    What kind of stitch do you use to attach the ribbing to the sweater? I’m pretty new to sewing, especially stretch fabrics. I assume the seam has to be somewhat elastic so it won’t rip.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated 🙂

  15. Suzy says:

    Hello! I’m dying to know where you got your tights! I have looked everywhere!! Help!?

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.