Refashion Runway Competitors and Challenges Announced Today


OK, now you guys didn’t make this easy!

I was blown away by all the talented seamstresses interested in competing in the First Ever Refashion Runway. It was so hard to choose only six to compete. So I narrowed it down to eight competitors instead. Looks like there is going to have to be a Season Two of Refashion Runway. 🙂 Thank you so much to everyone who tried out! I hope you will all sew along with us this season and audition again next time.

Refashion Runway1

Let me introduce the enthusiastic competitors in no particular order:

Meet Elizabeth from The Hungry Octopus. You can tell she really enjoys refashioning thrift store oddities into stylish new wearable clothing.

Elizabeth

Meet this self proclaimed refashion addict, Mary, from Thrifty Chic. Like so many of us, sewing and creating makes her feel alive. And vibrant she is, in this refashioned crocheted top!

Mary1

Now, meet Zhenya, from Being Zhenya.

This Russian girl turned Minneapolis sweetheart, rocks this cute peplum dress refashioned from an old maxi dress.

Being Zhenya Peplum Refashion

Now, meet Katrina from Offsquare

She even tackled a lined raincoat refashion project. Not an easy task. I was so impressed!

Offsquare

Meet Sally from Charity Shop Chic .

I’ve been a fan of hers for quite some time so I was thrilled when she applied for Refashion Runway! She amazes me with her refashioned versions of celebrity style. Some day I hope to be as good as she is in her pattern drafting skills. So inspiring!

Sally

Meet Miche from Buttons and Birdcages .

She is a graduate student who loves vintage and traveling. Miche looks like she so enjoys her newly refashioned dresses! I love her photography and her quirky style on her blog.

Miche1

Meet Barbara from Zibergirl Sews .

I had a hard time deciding which picture to show you from her site. She has a great sense of style. I wish I lived closer to Barbara, I’d love to hang out with her.  She looks like she has so much fun in sewing and in life. Being a fellow teacher, I’m a tad bit envious of her since she just retired and has a whole lifetime of sewing ahead of her.

Barbara

Last, but certainly not least, meet Jen, from Diary of a Mad Mama.

She is a 49-cent Friday “refashion machine” enjoying every minute of it and creating some amazing things from others castoffs.

Jen

Well every one, I hope you’ll sew along with us and vote for your favorites each week.

So you can all start thinking about your projects, I’m announcing all the challenges today.

Week One: Stripes

Week Two: Denim

Week Three: Copy Cat from a magazine, catalog or celebrity

Week Four: Summer Dress

As you can see, I’ve left the challenges fairly open ended. Just remember, each garment must be original (in other words not posted on your blog already) and have a before and after picture. Also, please remember, this is a “refashion” competition so your garment must be constructed from a previous item of some kind.

I’ll be sending a schedule via email to all the contestants.

If you are “sewing along” with us, send your before and after pictures to bhunting@eoni.com. We want to see your creations, too!

One last item, if you are competing or sewing along, and you have a blog, so we can get the word out, please place a link to The Renegade Seamstress in your sidebar with this image:

Refashion Runway1

Good luck!

And your challenge starts………RIGHT NOW!!!

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Refashion Runway Competitors and Challenges Announced Today

  1. Some very talented ladies. Can’t wait to see what’s next…

  2. Can’t wait to follow along.

  3. A few of them I know, and a few of them I look forward to knowing. The challenges look fun!

  4. Nikitaland says:

    Oooooh, I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with! Good luck to everyone!

  5. vjstracener says:

    I can’t wait to see what they come up with.

  6. BeingZhenya says:

    So excited to have been chosen 🙂 Can’t wait to start refashioning!
    Xo,
    Z
    http://beingzhenya.com

  7. I can’t wait! I am so excited. Thanks for choosing me! 🙂

  8. offsquare says:

    Exciting! Some very talented ladies in the group. You gals sure up the performance pressure somewhat! 🙂

  9. modflowers says:

    Looking forward to seeing everyone’s creations – it’s like the Great British Sewing Bee all over again!

  10. What fun! Can’t wait to see everyone’s projects! 🙂

  11. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for choosing me! I can’t wait to see what everyone has up their sleeves!

    – Elizabeth
    aka TheHungryOctopus
    http://www.facebook.com/TheHungryOctopus

  12. I’m SO excited to have been chosen, looking forward to seeing everyone’s projects!

  13. Pingback: I will be on Renegade Seamstress’ Refashion Runway!!! |

  14. Woo Hoo! I love to exercise my vote and another favorite is to watch you all do your magic in refashioning thrift store clothes! Can’t wait to see the results!

  15. zibergirl says:

    What a great honor to be selected for the competition! I have butterflies in my tummy. I am looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with. Thanks for the opportunity.

  16. youngatfifty says:

    makes me get my machine out and squeeze my grey cells :-)) looking forward to some simple DIYs.

  17. Petra says:

    I’m excited to see what all these lovely ladies come up with! So fun!!
    and hopefully it sparks a fire in me to clear off my craft table and get sewing! 😉

  18. Pingback: Headbands, Buttons, and Refashion Runway | buttons and birdcages

  19. Anonymous says:

    This will be very interesting to watch.

  20. Pingback: Week 5 and the end of MMM13 | ZIBERGIRL SEWS

  21. justheidi137 says:

    Nice job ladies! Congrats!! :)This should be fun to watch—I’m gonna sew along! CANT WAIT FOR THE DENIM challenge—–that’s my thing! 🙂 I’ll do my best on the pictures so I can shoot again for next “season.”:)

  22. Grace says:

    Such an amazing line up!! I’m so excited to see what everyone comes up with and really tempted to sew along!

  23. Jo H. says:

    I’ve come here the last two days meaning to leave a comment and then getting side-tracked by the blogs of these wonderful re-fashioners!! I am so looking forward to the competition and I’ll be voting 🙂

  24. Hi Beth! I have been getting my “Stripe on” today. Just a few questions. Do I post to my own site once my creation is ready? Or do you want us to send them to you! Let me know how you want it sent

  25. Pingback: First Ever Refashion Runway Competition! | Diary of a MadMama

  26. Pingback: Meet the Refashion Runway Sponsors | The Renegade Seamstress

  27. Pingback: REFASHION RUNWAY by The Renegrade Seamstress | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  28. Blondie says:

    Awesome! I’ll be checking out all of their websites. Personally, I finally got a new/used sewing machine that I think I will like a lot better than the one I got 3 years ago. I could never figure out how to work the darn thing (to many buttons). I’m pretty sure I will like this one a lot better. No bells or whistles; just what I need to get started.

  29. Lori says:

    I hope to sew along but as my sister points out I suffer with ‘Triple A – Double D’ (Age Activated Attention Deficit Disorder)!

  30. mtetar says:

    Great creativity by all participants! Be Blessed Everyone! Mtetar

  31. Pingback: Refashion Runway | Offsquare

  32. Looks such fun, can’t wait to see what people come up with 🙂

  33. joelleharris says:

    looking forward to sewing along!

    • I’m glad you’ll be sewing along!! I’m hoping to have a Flckr page set up for the sew along photos, but if I don’t get that accomplished, just go ahead and email your pictures. I’ll lin them back to your site.
      Have fun!
      Beth

  34. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  35. Pingback: Shower the People You Love With Love | The Renegade Seamstress

  36. justheidi137 says:

    I did a little thrift shopping today…..:) Picked up some neat stripes today!!! I didn’t realize you were posting pictures tomorrow…I don’t know WHAT I was thinking. LOL I thought it would start tomorrow….but it all makes sense now. Oh my. 🙂

  37. IS IT TOO LATE TO ENTER??

  38. Pingback: Refashion Runway Competition: Week One – Stripes! | Diary of a MadMama

  39. Pingback: jumpsuit to summer top | photosarah crafts

  40. Pingback: And the Refashion Runway Week One Winner is……. | The Renegade Seamstress

  41. Pingback: The Renegade Seamstress

  42. Pingback: Think Pink (Stripes) | The Hungry Octopus

  43. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One – Plaid! | Diary of a MadMama

  44. Pingback: Zibergirl Sews . . . and sews . . . | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  45. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  46. Pingback: Winter Maxi Skirt Refashion Tutorial: Gladness of Heart Guest Blogpost! | Diary of a MadMama

  47. Pingback: Refashion Runway: Season 3 | Accidental Seamstress

  48. Pingback: What is Refashion Runway Anyway? A Look Back Through the Seasons | The Renegade Seamstress

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.