Refashion Runway: Winter White Winner and Overall Winner Announced Today


alreadyon3-1

As you know, I am not good at good byes.

This last Refashion Runway: Season Two post has been the hardest one for me to write. Do you know how many times I’ve started over this morning, trying to find just the right words to tell you how much fun I’ve had hosting Refashion Runway once again and how sad I am that it has come to a close?

Let’s just say, I’ve become delightfully accustomed to waking up on Saturday mornings, drinking my coffee, watching the sun rise, and putting together these posts for you to highlight some of the most creative and talented women I know.

How about we look at today as a beginning and not an end. The beginning of new friendships, the beginning of new projects, and possibly even the beginning of new adventures for all of us.

So, let’s get to it and announce the winner of the Winter White challenge.

Congratulations to Susan, from Second Chances by Susan, who wowed us, once again, with her playful and versatile Winter White Refashion. Not to mention her fun photos.

She went from this:

before 1

to this:

dress

to this:

dress with cape

to this:

flared skirt

to this:

hand out

to this:

snow 1_edited-1

Congratulations Susan!!!

 *****

And now, without further adieu, and without me getting all mushy on you, (remember, this is a beginning and not an end) let’s move onto to the overall winners of Refashion Runway: Season Two.

To determine the order of the winners, the total votes received (for those of you interested in numbers, there were close to 10,000 votes cast this season) were combined with the competitors scores of each other. In my book ALL these ladies are winners!!!

We’ll start with our third runner up:

Congratulations to Desarae, from Gladness of Heart. Here’s a look back at her beautiful creations this season:

The Plaid Challenge

IMG_0370 (683x1024) IMG_0279 (683x1024) (1)

The Emerald Challenge

IMG_0429 (935x1024) IMG_0326 (683x1024)

The Peplum Challenge

IMG_0432 IMG_0949 (1024x683)

The Leather Challenge

IMG_5446 IMG_1166 (683x1024)

The Halloween Challenge

IMG_0015 (683x1024) IMG_0495 (683x1024)

The Winter White Challenge

IMG_0588 (853x1280) IMG_0169 (853x1280)

Thank you so very much, Desarae, for all of your hard work and dedication to Refashion Runway, it’s been fun getting to know you this season.

You will be taking these prizes with you:

A nice gift certificate from the popular on-line fabric store, Pink Chalk Fabrics,

pinkchalkfabrics2

 a copy of Chasing the Crown by Kail Harbick, that has been graciously donated by the author herself,

Chasing the Crown

 and a handmade bag from the lovely Trish McLaughlin over at Mini Pip Designs.

Mini Pip

Enjoy!!

*****

Now onto the second runner up:

Congratulations to Carissa, from Carissa Knits!

Here’s a look back at her amazing refashions from this season:

The Plaid Challenge

Week 1 Plaid-Carissa-Before Week 1 Plaid-Carissa-After1

The Emerald Challenge

RR wk2 - Emerald - Carissa - Before RR wk2 - Emerald - Carissa - After 1

The Peplum Challenge

Week3-Peplum-Carissa-Before Week3-Peplum-Carissa-After1 (1)

The Leather Challenge

Week 4 Leather - Carissa - Before Week 4 Leather - Carissa - After 2

The Halloween Challenge

Week 5 - Carissa - Before Week 5 - Carissa - After 2

The Winter White Challenge

Winter White - Carissa - Before Winter White - Carissa - After 2

Wowza!

Thanks for sharing your amazing creativity with us this season, Carissa!!! I just know you have many more exciting adventures ahead of you and it’s been fun to be a part of your journey.

You will be taking home a prize package of 25 free custom sewing patterns from Lekala Sewing Patterns. Believe it or not,  you just send in your measurements – just the height and girths – and within 24 hours they’ll accustom the patterns just for you. It will be sent to you via email as a PDF, so there is no shipping charges or delay. I’m totally fascinated by all of this!!

Lekala_200x200

In addition, I will be sending you a $25 Jo-Ann’s gift card.

5412176_new

Happy Sewing, Carissa!!!

*****

Congratulations to our first runner up, Trish, from Feeling Kinda Thrifty.

Here’s a look back at her incredible Refashion Runway adventure:

The Plaid Challenge

Before AfterCollage

The Emerald Challenge

Before (2)both3shorts2

The Peplum Challenge

BeforeBoth Dress3

The Leather Challenge

Before (3) Amber5

The Halloween Challenge

bEFORE (4)???????????????????????????????

The Winter White Challenge

before (5) ???????????????????????????????

You will be receiving a gift certificate from Fat Quarter Shop

FatQuarterShop-Gift-Certificate-25

And a $50 Jo-Ann’s gift card from yours truly: The Renegade Seamstress 🙂

5412176_new

Thanks, Trish!!! It’s been fun getting to know a fellow teacher/refashionista from across the Pacific. Perhaps, I’ll be lucky enough to land on your island and meet you in person someday. I would LOVE that!

*****

And now, drumroll please…………

The winner of Refashion Runway: Season Two is…….

Susan, from Second Chances by Susan!

Congratulations!!

Susan has thoroughly entertained us with her creative projects and fun photos throughout the entire competition. Here’s a look back at her Refashion Runway adventure:

The Plaid Challenge

before side

The Emerald Challenge

before silk dress front silk dress_edited-1

The Peplum Challenge

before (1) front (1)

The Leather Challenge

before-1 hand on hip

The Halloween Challenge

before (2) tree looking up

The Winter White Challenge

before 1 snow 1_edited-1

You will be receiving a Coats and Clark prize package of

coats and clark

an 18ct Dual Duty thread assortment along with fabrics from Rowan Fabrics Amy Butler line.

photo (43)

And a $100 Jo-Ann’s gift card from moi, The Renegade Seamstress. 🙂

5412176_new

Thanks for all of your late nights sewing so you could bring us your inspirational refashions! I have a feeling we’ll be meeting up soon, since we’re practically neighbors and we enjoy so many of the same things.

Congratulations, Susan!!!!

*****

Well there you have it; Refashion Runway: Season Two.

A big THANK YOU to to everyone who participated in season two. From those of you who voted and left nice comments, to the generous prize sponsors, to everyone who sewed along with us, and to the inspirational contestants.

I hope you all have met some new friends, learned a bit about sewing, and been inspired along the way. I know I have!!!

Let’s look at this, not as the end of season two, but as the beginning of Refashion Runway: Season Three.

Yes, it’s true, there WILL be a third season!!

If you’re interested in being a contestant in the next season, oil up your machines, work out your refashion muscles and get ready to audition when the open casting call comes out. I can’t wait to see what you have in store for us!!!

Until then……

Here’s to more Renegade Seamstress tutorials, coming up soon!

Easy DIY Refashion Tutorials

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Refashion Runway: Winter White Winner and Overall Winner Announced Today

  1. Laura Garrett says:

    Thank you, Beth, for taking us on this wonderful journey each week! I thoroughly enjoy your blog and have such admiration for all the contestants. Well done to you all! ~ Laura

  2. Carissa says:

    Thank you so much, Beth, for hosting this competition and letting me be a part of it. Your weekly challenges have forced me to be bold and try new things. I’ve learned a lot from my successes and failures, and been incredibly inspired by my competitors’ creations. Thanks again for this fantastic opportunity!

  3. Congratulations to all of you! and all participatns! What a great job you have done!

  4. Oh well done to everyone! just think of the fab stuff they have in their wardrobes now. And thanks Beth for hosting this. It is such a good idea! Well done for putting it all together and getting people involved with upping their game about refashioning.
    Sandy in the UK

  5. Hi Beth,

    Great job once again. After season 3 I think it should be time for an Refashion Runway Allstar version. Perhaps past members can compete again. Hint! Hint! Right around summer vacation time would be great. LOL!

  6. Susan Luke says:

    Thank you, Beth, for all your hard work and generosity in making this event happen! It has been an exceptionally fun journey! I feel grateful to have been amongst all these talented and creative women. I look forward to following their blogs and seeing the wonderful things they will continue to create in the future. Also, a big thank you to everyone who donated prizes, followed along, sewed along, voted, and supported each of us contestants throughout the season. I look forward to a season 3 with all new talent and creativity!

  7. vintagezest says:

    This was so great! Although I found out about the competition and your blog only a few weeks ago, I can’t wait to see what else is in store! I am definitely on the refashioning bandwagon, and I look forward to seeing more inspiration soon. 🙂

  8. Lesley says:

    I am so thrilled that there will be a third refashion runway- but please don’t burn out!! Maybe a substitute judge/moderator could come into play, or make it annual rather than back-to-back. I really love this and will continue to follow no matter. And I am glad to have found so many new amazing people through this very cool competition/community you have gathered!

  9. gillian ajayi says:

    I don’t want it to end! I’ll miss the weekly emails with the link for all the great refashions. I’ll just have to wait for the next refashion runway challenge.

  10. Desarae says:

    Congratulations Susan, Trish, and Carissa!! Thank you so much, Beth, for hosting another season!! It has been an awesome experience and I was so very blessed by it! It really challenged and inspired me to grow my skills and rise to each week’s project. I so appreciate meeting the ladies that have competed as well as those who have stopped by the blog and left such encouraging words! Thank you to everyone who voted and left comments! You definitely have a great thing going here, Beth, and you sure know how to pick the competitors too! 🙂

  11. Congrats to all these seamstresses… and wonderful host… I too have enjoyed the remakes… and contests!… so fun!

  12. Everyone did a great job but Susan is the clear winner. She is one talented seamstress and a wonderfully creative fashion designer. Bravo, Susa. One request for season three, Beth, can the next season run for a few weeks longer?

  13. kittehluvs says:

    congratulations to all the winners and participants! It was such a pleasure to watch all of their amazing refashions. And as always, thank you Beth for hosting. xo

  14. amy says:

    What a great challenge and an amazing bunch of creative refashion-istas! I have been so busy the last couple weeks, I haven’t been able to enjoy the challengess as much. But now that I’m all caught up again, I want to thank you for bringing such awesome bloggers and artists to my attention!

  15. Anonymous says:

    This has been such an inspiration to me. Thanks to you for hosting and to everyone for their amazingly creative designs. It’s really inspired me with my sewing and got me hooked on refashioning. Can’t wait for season three!

  16. Congrats to all the winners. It was so much fun to see what everybody would come up with. Amazing women…all of you!

  17. Anny says:

    I am SO happy there will be a Season 3!! Everyone offered incredible talent and I can’t wait to see what next season brings! Thank you, Beth, for hosting this.

  18. CraftyStaci says:

    It was so fun watching all these talented ladies work their refashion magic. Congratulations to Susan, who I voted for several times! 🙂

  19. Beth, this has been a wonderful experience for me. I can’t thank you enough for organizing this competition and allowing me to participate. I’ve learned so much from my fellow competitors. I feel incredibly honored that I had a chance to compete alongside such talented ladies. Mahalo nui loa!

  20. cucicucicoo says:

    Congratulations to the winners and to all the other ladies who participated! It was so inspiring to see their creations each week and a true pleasure to follow along. Thank you to you, Beth, for organizing everything again! 🙂 Lisa

  21. Loved every single bit of it! So……………is your next one starting mid-January????? I can’t wait!

  22. Jo H. says:

    Late to the party but wanted to congratulate all the ladies and you, too, Beth, for another great Refashion Runway. I came away with so many tips and tricks and ideas, and the entries are a feast for the eyes. So much fun!!!

  23. Pingback: What is Refashion Runway Anyway? A Look Back Through the Seasons | The Renegade Seamstress

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.