The Beauty of Bias Tape Part One: Make Your Own


It's easy! The Renegade Seamstress shows you how to make your own bias tape

For those of you who love to sew as much as I do, I see homemade bias tape in your future. Sure, you can go to the store and buy some plain trim, but why not make your own. It’s easy, fun and the possibilities are endless. That’s why I created this new bias tape series for you. Today, I’ll teach you how to make your own, and then, for the next few weeks, I’ll show you the fun things you can do with all that bias tape I know you’re going to want to make.

It's easy! The Renegade Seamstress shows you how to make your own bias tape

The beauty of bias tape is, because it is cut on the bias (45 degree angle) of the fabric, it is super pliable, has stretch and it can curve around all kinds of shapes. It can be used to finish off a raw edge on almost anything — hems, armholes, necklines, ruffles, peplums and seams, just to mention a few. You can create your own in any color, pattern or size you’d like. Making your own saves loads of money. And homemade bias tape makes a great gift for all of your sewing friends. So, what are we waiting for? Let’s turn up some good music and get started!

It's easy! The Renegade Seamstress shows you how to make your own bias tape

For the rest of the “how to” click here.

And since I haven’t had a giveaway in awhile, to thank you for supporting my creative endeavors, I’d like to send some bias tape to several of you who take the time to read my tutorial over at eHow, leave comments and pin to your Pinterest boards. I appreciate your support more than you will ever know. The winners will be announced on Saturday, May 17.

In other news:

Congratulations to Sarah Lewtas:

You are the winner of the Felted Jewelry Pouch!

Please send your address to me at bhunting@eoni.com.

Also, to Susan from Georgia, you sent me a lovely email the other day asking for advice about dress forms and for some reason, my reply is not going through to your email. I didn’t want you to think I didn’t get your nice email so here is my reply to you:

“Oh my gosh Susan, first of all, CONGRATULATIONS on your retirement! I’m so
excited for you. How many years did you teach and what grade level?

I’m also thrilled for you to be joining in the refashion fun. I know I
can’t get enough of it. So many thrift shops, so little time. 🙂 As far as
the dress form goes, yes, I do use one from Joann’s. But having said that,
it is helpful in many ways, but I still have to try on my creations many
times as I’m working on them. My dress form will go to my measurements but
not my exact shape. There are some that are made to be your shape exactly but
they are out of my price range at this point. If you decide to purchase
one, I noticed Joann’s was having a sale on their forms last week.”

Happy Sewing!!!
Beth

Next week:

It's easy! The Renegade Seamstress shows you how to make your own bias tape

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to The Beauty of Bias Tape Part One: Make Your Own

  1. Lindsay says:

    No joke – it’s pouring rain outside and I thought, ugh, I have to go to the store and get some bias tape before I finish my Mother’s Day project. I thought, I’ll just sit down and drink my coffee and read some blogs first. And this was the first blog that showed up in my WordPress feed! The photos of your beautiful homemade bias tape are so much more inspiring than the boring plain colors at the store. Okay… I’m inspired. I’m going to do this! And I’ll also be pinning this for future reference! I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for this bias tape series! Thanks a million for the timely post. 🙂

    • Oh you just made my day, Lindsay! That’s exactly what I hope for each time I push that publish button. Let me know if you have any questions and I can’t wait to see what you make with your bias tape.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Once again amazing. I actually bought a bias tape maker a while ago and had just not yet looked into the process. Love it! I am going to make fun aprons and your post was just the thing to get me started!

  3. Julie Toyne says:

    Beth, I have two questions regarding refashioning sweaters. What type of needle do you have most success with? do you choose a ball point needle to accommodate the sweater or a universal needle that is suitable for the woven fabric trim? Also what type of interfacing do you use, especially when converting a sweater into a cardigan? Thank you for your input. Julie

  4. kathy says:

    you’re making us wait a week to see how you used the bias tape!? that’s cruel!

  5. kathy says:

    in regards to dress forms…make your own of YOU! brown Kraft tape, cut in 2″ strips, wrapped around your tight Tshirt body. It’s you! google it to find all the details.

  6. val Kerr says:

    You are such a good instructor. Way to go. Perfect pictures, clear directions, precise language. Gifted!!!!!

    Valerie Kerr “There is no time like the present” Date: Sat, 3 May 2014 13:41:31 +0000 To: vmk5rr@hotmail.com

  7. Vicky says:

    You are so inspiring, and just the push I needed to make some bias tapes this week!!!

  8. Pam C says:

    I have made bias binding, but not bias tape. Very nice tutorial.

  9. Jenni Godley says:

    We had to make quite narrow bias tape out of a satiny stretch fabric for Couture class….that was….not fun. But these happy cotton prints, and the wider tape…..I’m inspired to try bias tape again. Great blog post!

  10. Oh how lovely! Bog standard “shop bought” bias is a bit boring, but seeing yours has restored me into thinking bias is G-R-E-A-T !! I have some bathroom towels that are a bit past it, so thought I would cut them up for hand towels for both bathroom and kitchen and bind them! I will go through my fabric stash to find some snazzy designs and make my own bias to use on the towels…. thank you for your bias tutorial… best wishes, Jay x

  11. Tami says:

    I need to go peruse the “happy” fabrics next time I go to the fabric store, and check Amazon for a bias maker/folder. I can’t wait to see what fun ideas you have in store for us 🙂

  12. Sharon says:

    I love sewing to my favorite music. I made a blue and yellow floral print pinafore apron with homemade blue gingham bias – turned out so cute. Thank you for your great ideas and inspiration to make MORE.

  13. They are so pretty and unique! Coincidentally, I made bias tape last night – I love using the gadget. I’ve only made single fold so I cut 1 inch strips for 1/2 inch bias tape – what are the different uses or advantages for single versus double fold? I look forward to seeing the project ideas.

    • Hi Lisa, We must’ve been reading each others minds last night. 🙂 Double fold is usually used for binding edges and single fold for decorating or trimming on the flat surfaces of the fabric with decorative stitching on top of it.

  14. Restyle4Life says:

    Thank you for this! I think I’ve only ever made my own bias tape once. I’ll have to try this little gadget. Your tape is so pretty. Sure beats the plain and boring at the stores. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  15. Vicki F says:

    Thank you for your tutorial. I actually have a bias tape maker, and I have never used it, because all the instructions for cutting the fabric have confused me. Your instructions were very clear and easy to understand, and now I feel like I can make my own bias tape.

  16. Katy says:

    Just stumbled across this today – AWESOME tutorial, thank you! I was also on your “how to make bias tape” entry and actually went shopping and bought myself a bias tape maker… I’m so excited to get into it! Thank you thank you thank you!

  17. Fiona M says:

    Great tutorial, thanks. I’ve pinned it 🙂

  18. Melissa says:

    Such an amazing tutorial. I can’t thank you enough!

  19. Joen says:

    Thanks for the tutorial! I recently bought a bias tape maker and haven’t tried it, and I’m a visual person when it comes to learning something new so this is a great tutorial for me!

  20. learningnewtricks says:

    I haven’t read the other comments, but I wonder why you aren’t making continuous bias tape. It’s so much faster to make. I usually make it weekly. Check out this post: http://www.coletterie.com/tutorials-tips-tricks/continuous-bias-tape-tutorial. Love your bias tape selections. I enjoy your blog and the directions are easily understood.

  21. I can’t wait for your part two to get some inspiration! 😉

  22. Hey Beth! Great post. Also, thanks for the memories on your canning post. My mother used to can tomatoes, and applesauce. Great childhood memories!

  23. Meaghan says:

    I just love the material you used. I just bought a new sewing book to make some clothes for myself. I often re-fashion like you. I’m so excited to try making my own bias tape now. I love the patterned more than plain =)

  24. bpwh77 says:

    This was great. I need to take the time to make some.

  25. Pingback: The Beauty of Bias Tape Part 2: Freshen Up an Old Towel | The Renegade Seamstress

  26. Barb says:

    This brought back memories for me. I made little wash clothes with my own bias tape when I had my babies. Used them on my changing table (before disposable baby wipes and I didn’t use disposable diapers)! I think I still may have a couple in my rag drawer.

  27. Tami says:

    What a great idea with bias tape and a old towel. It would also be a great gift idea for students going to college. Think I will make a few.

  28. bernieandi says:

    It looks so lovely seeing the homemade printed bias all together like that, what a great gift idea for a friend who sews!

  29. Jo H. says:

    These are so bright and cheery – it’s nice to know how to make them. I’m so glad to read this because recently I was trying to join two pieces of pre-made bias tape and just couldn’t figure out the angle to sew them … now I know 🙂

  30. Pingback: Mine for the Making Pinterest Feature Friday » Mine for the Making

  31. Pingback: The Beauty of Bias Tape Part 3: Summer Shorts and Some Winners | The Renegade Seamstress

  32. Pingback: The Beauty of Bias Tape Part 4: Summer Flip Flops | The Renegade Seamstress

  33. Pingback: The Beauty of Bias Tape Part 5: Recover an Old Pillow with Handmade Corded Piping | The Renegade Seamstress

  34. JeanneC says:

    I was so excited by your tutorial I went out and bought a couple of different size biased tape makers. I wanted a two inch one so I could do a one inch double biased tape border on cut off jeans for my daughters. I had to wait a few days for it to come in the mail, but it was worth it. Thanks to you I have completed over 7 yards of beautiful turquoise floral biased tape for my girls shorts. Thank you so much. After the jean shorts I am going to make more biased tape.

  35. Pingback: Wide Waist Band Skirt | Make My Day Creative

  36. Pingback: Katy’s Apron | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  37. Pingback: Padded Eye Masks | Make My Day Creative

  38. Pingback: Create a Modern Sleeveless Blazer and a Giveaway | The Renegade Seamstress

  39. Pingback: Pinterest Feature Friday - PFF #130 - The Scrap Shoppe

  40. Pingback: A Few More Gingham Sew Alongs | The Renegade Seamstress

  41. Pingback: How to Make a Little Girl’s Sweater Even If Knitting Isn’t Your Thing | The Renegade Seamstress

  42. Pingback: New Video: Round Drawstring Makeup Bag and Happy National Bias Tape Day | The Renegade Seamstress

  43. Laura says:

    I really like the ideas on using bias tape. Where did you get your all metal bias tape makers? I’ve only seen the ones with plastic, but would like all metal ones.

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.