Time to Vote! Refashion Runway: Boho Chic Challenge


Boho Chic Quote

To me, nothing says carefree, summer and relaxed better than a little fringe, lace and leather. I love the Boho Chic look and these talented Refashion Runway women took this look to a whole new level this week.

Enjoy! And be sure to vote for your favorite at the bottom of this post.

************************************

Let’s take a look at what Gema from Sequins and Slippers has been up to this week:

“Hi Everyone!

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful week! I’ve been on tenterhooks, waiting
to see everyone’s Boho Chic creations… can’t wait!

So… here’s mine… Bearing in mind I started with the idea of a fringed
waistcoat, everything else had to fit around that. SO! As there are three
pieces to this, I’ll make it a short explanation (with an indepth rundown
on my own blog) – otherwise you’ll fall asleep by the end of it!

To start? A leather coat, a white cotton dress, and a pair of seventies
paisley print trousers!

A BOHO CHIC RRC5

I started with the leather coat, removing the button placket, collar, and
sleeves – before realising it was actually a (usable) beautifully soft
suede on the inside. SO! I made fringing from the arms, fitted the body to
fit me, and ended up with the waistcoat. (as I said before, you’re getting
the abridged version! Haha!)

FRINGING WORKINGS

With the white dress I created a panelled white off-the-shoulder top (like
a corset, but no boning) – and added a neckband to strengthen the top (so
it wouldn’t slip off!).

NECKLINE BINDING

Finally, I cut the paisley pants round the inside leg, and pinned them to
my body to create a maxi skirt. I fully sewed up the back seam, and left
the front seam open half-way to create a front slit.

TROUSER TO SKIRT1

I then went down to the river with Roddie to take some photos, but with all
the drizzle it was pretty dark – hope you can see!

DSC_1123-2

IMG_20150820_175201

Here’s one of the front of the skirt!

IMG_20150820_200340

And here’s a close-up on Dolly, for a better look at the waistcoat!

IMG_20150821_090556

BEFORE & AFTER (1)

Have a wonderful week…

Until then, Happy Refashioning!

Gema x”

**********************

Now, let’s check in on Kara from While Camden Sleeps:

“Every item of clothing has a story to tell. This is especially true for
thrifted finds. As I approached the theme for this week, I wanted to do
something different and find a way to add symbolism to my refashion. So I
set off to find the pieces to refashion and I ended up at a swap meet
where I found, oddly enough, a bathrobe.

boho robe before

I know that a used bathrobe isn’t something most people are looking for,
and I ask you to wait before you write this off. You see, the fabric of
the robe has a beautiful texture. It wasn’t towel-like or absorbent, just
a normal woven cotton with an exceptional pattern. (Because of the
intimate nature of robes, I did wash it carefully before wearing it. I
also realized I’d have to work around a few stains.)

The second thing I noticed after the texture was the logo that read, ” Crozer Cancer Center.” That’s when I realized that this robe had a story to tell too. A story of hardship and illness. And that’s when I got my idea: I wanted to give this robe a second chance. Instead of representing a devastating illness, it would represent a second chance.

I knew that the robe would need something to embellish it in order to truly
be Boho Chic. That’s why I decided the beautiful dress below would make a
great donor.

boho red before1

I LOVED this dress. However, when I tried it on, it got stuck. Real
stuck. Like, should-I-ask-a-stranger-for-help stuck. It was way too small
and I heard seams ripping as I finally managed to dance it’s way over my
head. The damage was done and the dress needed some serious TLC. Luckily,
so did the robe. So it was a match made in heaven.

**I spent a while researching Indian clothing to be sure I wasn’t altering
something sacred or deeply symbolic. I learned that this dress is actually
a tunic called a “kurti” and they can be worn for casual and formal
occasions. Anyone can buy them on Amazon.
<http://www.amazon.com/Printed-Multi-Long-Tunics-Kurti/dp/B012H1F4ZU/ref=sr_1_10?s=apparel&ie=UTF8&qid=1440200260&sr=1-10&nodeID=7141123011&keywords=kurti&gt;
And the wiki page even told me they were worn regularly in the 60s and 70s
as an “element of hippie fashion.” Score!**

The final piece I worked with was this vest. I was over ambitious and
wanted to find a leather jacket to refashion into a vest. However, all the
leather jackets at the thrift store were at least $20, and I found the one
below for $3! Plus it’s leather and by the looks of it, authentically
vintage. I decided to add one the the embellishments from the kurti to
make it feel more Bohemian.

boho vest Collage

Finally, I added a gold waistband to the bottom of the original kurti, and
used the fabric leftover from the top to make a headband.

boho red down

And then, I was done! I’m so happy with it! I loved that I was able to
take the robe from representing one of life’s challenges, to symbolizing a
new and beautiful beginning. I also adore that it gives me two new outfits.”

boho outift robe diagram

boho white 3

boho c1

boho c5

**********************************

Laura from Accidental Seamstress has been busy stitching up a storm for us:

IMG_6357

“To turn this sheer night gown into a fun Boho Chic tunic, I utilized some super fun
decorative stitches. My full time job is at a specialty sewing shop. I teach sewing
lessons on the machines we sell and I, obviously, sell them too. As such, I have
access to our entire inventory of machines. I do ALL my sewing at work
(#BestBossEver), using different floor models for different types of sewing. To help
me with my boho top, I used our Janome 15000 because it’s got 525 decorative sewing
stitches on it and I intended to use a LOT for this top 🙂

Bohocollage
I started by covering up some existing embroidery that was on the back yoke of the
nightgown. After hours (no joke!) of seam ripping, I figured covering it would be
easier! So, I found some blue scrap crochet material and sewed it over the back yoke. It was pure luck that the crochet matched one of the embroidery colors!

IMG_6317

thought the green, yellow, and turquoise were pretty together so that was my inspiration for the colors of my decorative stitching. Starting with turquoise thread, I began by sewing around the neckline and arm holes. I chose a different stitch and sewed a line next to it with yellow thread, and then green.

IMG_6342

I kept repeating this until the entire front yoke was stitched. At the bottom hem of the shirt, I stuck with with blue thread only as I thought it would translate better in photos. Then, I decided to go for broke, and sew some of the decorative stitching down the front of my shirt. I measured and marked and went for it… and I loved it!

IMG_6310

To give the shirt a little more whimsy, I stole the bottom ruffle from the nightgown
and sewed it into the armholes for a breezy short sleeve. I added decorative
stitching to the sleeve as well.

IMG_6332

This refashion took me quite a while to finish and I went through at least 6
bobbins… but I really like how it turned out. It was fun to try out all those
decorative stitches. I was able to change the entire look of this shirt by having
fun with thread colors!”

IMG_6351

IMG_6349

IMG_6353

IMG_6363

*****************************

And now let’s see what Sarah from Life is Beautiful has in store for us:

“I found this gorgeous wedding dress at a thrift store. Sure, it’s outdated and not within the time of what’s in style right now, but I can see why a certain lovely bride fell in love with this dress and wore it to her wedding! I am sure she looked absolutely stunning in this dress and I felt a little bad(?) as I cut into this dress and made it into something different.

rr19

rr12

rr17

rr16

As I was cutting the endless about of tulle, shoulder pads, giant bow, lace trimmings, lace, and more tulle, I thought of the lady that wore this dress to her wedding. I wish I could meet her so I could see pictures of her in this dress on her wedding day! This is the kind of dress I would have fell in love with back in the day, it’s so fancy and elegant and princess-y. What girl doesn’t want to feel like a true Princess on her wedding day? I wondered why she didn’t keep this dress and what made her donate it, maybe she has passed on to the next life and her children donated it, or she was just de-cluttering. Either way, I hope she would be happy with what I did with the dress and wouldn’t be too sad. I honestly felt like I should have a moment of silence to pay respect to the dress and the lady that wore it, So I did. For real. I am such a dork.

rr20

The lining underneath the lace bodice is cream while the lace is white so I dyed the whole dress to a cream color to match the bodice.

rr15

rr14

Then while the lace dyed to a beautiful cream color, the tulle got more yellow than I had wanted so I just ended up cutting off the tulle.

*Dyeing tips: Some of you readers have asked for tips on dyeing evenly. I get hot water in a bowl and pour the dye in and mix it well. Then I submerge the clothing item and constantly stir it around for about 20 mins. Like literally constantly without stopping. I like using the pink rubber gloves I get from an Asian market. Then I let it sit for 10 more minutes, constantly checking every couple of minutes to stir it around. Put it in a washer in cold water with a tiny bit of detergent, then dry on delicate. Hope that helps! 🙂

rr13

I don”t like any fabric go to waste, especially lace! I knew I wanted to do something with the leftover lace I cut off and after looking at the lace designs, these two designs caught my attention and I instantly thought of a headband to make.

AFTER:

rr8

rr3

rr25

rr5

rr7

rr6

rr23

rr22

rr26

It’s hard to catch the true color of light colored lace, but the lace color turned out to be a gorgeous cream, ivory color. I did A LOT to this dress, I dyed it to cream so the whole dress would be the same color, I raised the waist line so it wouldn’t be like a v-shape waist-line, cut off all the tulle, cut the length of the dress to right below the knee-length, took off the lace collar, lace-bib, cut off the lace cuffs and cut off the sleeves and made it smaller and shorter length, took in an inch from each side of the dress, cut off the train and the giant bow in the back and gathered the extra lace from the sides to add to the back.

I hope you liked my boho-chic refashion and I will hopefully see you next week, the very last challenge!”

***********************************

Ok, now it’s your turn to vote for your favorite Boho Chic Refashion.

After you click on your favorite, be sure to go to the bottom of the poll and click vote, so your vote will be counted. Have fun!

The winner will be announced next Saturday morning.

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Time to Vote! Refashion Runway: Boho Chic Challenge

  1. I can’t fine the poll….am I going blind!

  2. Pingback: Refashion Runway Challenge 5: Boho Chic |

  3. Anna Bell Hollaway says:

    Kara’s is fantastic! The boho style is the most apparent and she made it beautiful. I fee like her project is totally in style. She’s got my vote this week.

  4. Petrina says:

    All the refashions were fantastic! Congrats to all the women on their creativity

  5. Kathy says:

    As usual Gemma knocked it out of the park.

  6. Linda says:

    I loved them all. This will be a difficult decision!

  7. Sarah Tyau says:

    Hello everyone, thank you so much for your sweet comments! I’ve noticed some of the comments and I’m somewhat perplexed by some comments saying my dress isn’t boho? When I googled “boho-chic dress” on Google, most of the pictures were of a lace dress. I thought lace was the epitome of a bohemian style, am I wrong? I believed I was following the challenge and the theme 100% when making this dress. I wouldn’t make something that I know would get docked points for not following the challenge. Anyway, I’m so honored to be in this competition among such talented ladies, I was blown away by the others’ refashions this week!

    • Deidre says:

      Your dress is stunning! I would never have thought to do that with an 80s wedding dress. now I will look at them differently in the op shops. I just googled the same thing and got the same result. then again without the word “Chic” and got a very different result.
      I suspect it is a difference between those who lived through the original era (which wasn’t called Boho in the day) and the revisionist way that it is emulated and updated for now.

      • Sarah Tyau says:

        Thank you so much Deidre for your comment! I really do think it’s the difference between the era, I looked into it and researched it a lot(after many people saying mine was not boho-chic) and boho-chic is the modernized version of bohemian, therefore the word “chic” added to it, and not the same style as back in the day. But I am afraid many people think of it as the original style from the era and I won’t get their vote. 😦 So your comment is very much appreciated, thank you!

  8. Well – THIS was a very hard decision! I lived through the original Boho period – one of the ladies (the one I voted for) rocked it – I saw Stevie Nicks wear something just like it before a concert in the late 70’s!

  9. Karen says:

    This was the hardest one to choose yet. Went with Kara because I liked it the best – but they are all so well done and show great creativity and skill.

  10. helentristam says:

    They are all so good this week, I am really stuck who to vote for

  11. Claire Louise Simard says:

    So creative, it brought chills to my arms, or was that envy?

  12. deeReese says:

    Kara’s creation was wonderful and I really enjoyed the backstory to it.

  13. Pingback: Refashion Runway Week 5: Boho Chic -

  14. Jessica says:

    Definition of boho-chic: “It’s street fashion of The Village in NYC but coupled with Vintage and a little Hippie and Gypsy thrown in for that added touch. You know when you see it. It’s got a 70’s flair to it-very Retro.

    A fashion trend that is part bohemian and part chic. It is tied to the vintage phenomenom in fashion where the trend was to bring back vintage styles for the modern era. Boho chic combines organic, colorful, detailed, folk-inspired pieces with simple, modern pieces. An example would be wearing a beaded peasant dress with a white tanktop.

    The trend is said to have been started by actress Sienna Miller in 2005. She wore bohemian-style clothing in the movie Alfie and continued to sport the garb regularly in London. People began to imitate this style, and fashion designers took notice.”

    I think Sarah nailed the boho-chic refashion! Vintage, lace, retro, it’s very bohemian. While the other ones are impressive, I feel Sarah’s fine detail to that perfect fit and articulate sewing skills shine through in each of her refashions that triumphs over other constestants craftsmanship that I’ve seen.

  15. Nat says:

    Good Luck Sarah!!! The dress is beautiful!!

  16. dragonflyzia says:

    They were all awesome and I honestly can’t decide between Gema ( I would totally wear that outfit) and Kara with her not one but two clever outfits…..I’m glad it’s not up to me!

  17. Gema says:

    I’ve just got to say, Kara’s face on the ‘Before shot’ with the red dress made me LAUGH!! What a great face of complete devastation, love it! X (and the refashion, obviously!)

    • Gema! I’m so glad you caught the humor! I just have to say, you are a creative genius! Everything you make puts me in awe. I still can’t believe you made a purse out of a straw hat! As I was trying to come up with a boho idea I actually asked myself, “What awesome thing is Gema going to come up with this week? Maybe she’ll hand crochet a vest using nothing but dental floss!” Seriously though, you could totally do that! I love your refashion this week, the way the fringe drapes over the vest is so beautiful. You really nailed it. I’m really excited to see what you come up with this week!

      • Gema says:

        What worries me is I’ve been thinking about dental floss ever since I read your reply… 😉 Thank-you, I don’t deserve any praise – I literally stumble through my refashions, unlike the precision and thought that goes into everyone else’s. Love your work Kara, so beautifully made 😀
        And if we can’t laugh while we’re doing it, then something’s very wrong! X

  18. Abigail says:

    Kara nailed it as usual, I love Kara! I’ll be voting for her every time😀 I enjoyed Gema’s too.

  19. Wow, I love how the contestants mentioned honoring the original pieces they were working with by thinking about the story of the pieces, and the people who owned them. I think the important lesson in that for me was a reminder to “slow down” and be reflective… we are in a society where slashing stuff is just so easy. It is so much easier to destroy something than to build it, and I think that each of the contestants this week showed extreme care, prevision, and skill! Nice job ladies!!!

    • Oops… typing too fast. I meant to say precision, but I guess provision works too!

      • I love what you had to say, Tondra. Especially the way Sarah treated that wedding dress. On her blog she even mentions giving it a moment of silence. She is so thoughtful to think of how important that dress was to the original owner and to realize it’s significance in someone’s life.

  20. beccabodily says:

    Some of you keep talking about how Sarah’s isn’t boho but if you google bohemian lace, everything that comes up is that beautiful white lace, just like Sarah’s.

  21. Jacqueline Crane says:

    Lace is the epitome of Boho. Sarah nailed it.

  22. Mai T says:

    They are so great with their style that it makes me confused to decide to choose who is the best!

  23. Talia says:

    I love this week’s challenge! It has been so much fun seeing what everyone has come up with! I wish I were this good at sewkng! However, I’m a bit confused…while scrolling through everyone’s entries, I noticed that Kara’s creation was very similar to to the longer sleeve crop top and knee-length skirt combo Sarah did about 4 weeks ago? Are contestants able to repeat a design that has already been done? Aside from that, I have loved seeing all the boho chic designs. Keep up the good work ladies!

    • Hey Talia!
      Did you know that Sarah and I are friends in real life? In fact, after I signed on to do Refashion Runway, I texted her the link and told her to apply too. She’s truly amazing and a wonderful person!
      We actually have more than just sewing in common, we both share the same religious beliefs. As part of our beliefs, we both follow a conservative code of modesty which requires us to cover our shoulders, have our skirts and shorts be at least knee-length, have our midriffs covered, and wear things are aren’t exceedingly low in the front or the back. So while we did both make crop top and a skirt at different points, apart from them both following the same modesty guidelines, they are actually very different.
      From a seamstresses standpoint: Sarah’s skirt is a child’s size, it is also an A-line, and it’s fitted using an elastic band. Mine is an adult pencil skirt, which is fitted to me using two darts. It has a hidden zipper in the back, a separate waistband, and a kick pleat.
      Sarah’s crop top buttons in the front and has a separate panel piece over the shoulders. My crop top fits over my head due to the knit fabric in the back, mine also has flared sleeves, and a decorative neckline. While they are both crop tops, it’s important to remember that crop tops are very in fashion right now, so the fact that both of us made them isn’t really anything significant. In fact, other contestants have made crop tops during this competition as well, including Laura, The Accidental Seamstress, during her refashion last week.
      I appreciate your regard for the integrity of this competition, and for looking out for Sarah (I love her too). And I promise I did not copy her design. For most of the refashion I was actually planning on making a dress, but switched to a crop top so I could wear the top with the other skirt I was able to create from the kurti.

  24. Kathy W. says:

    Boho is long gone from Greenwich Village the modern version is the Brooklyn Hipster. They are alive and kicking. You can still see most of these outfits today walking down the streets of Williamburgh Brooklyn. In terms of defining Boho Chic to me those words mean fringe, leather, bell bottoms, paisley prints and crochet lace.

  25. Sandy says:

    I love both Kara and Sarah’s refashions!! Kara’s is definitely very wearable. And I think the lace in Sarah’s dress is the epitome of boho chic! So amazed at all the talent!!

  26. I vote for Kara from While Camden Sleeps. Two super cool outfits!

  27. Pingback: Frugal Fashion: Turn a Thrifted Wedding Gown into a Stunning Boho-Chic Dress

  28. Our Life is Beautiful for the win!

  29. Pingback: Boho Chic Sew Along | The Renegade Seamstress

  30. Diane Okhrimenko says:

    Kara’s work looks like beautiful art remastered.

  31. Pingback: DIY: Vintage Wedding Dress to a Cocktail Dress

  32. Diane Arcand says:

    Just so cute and trendy!

  33. Ashley says:

    Hey! I really miss seeing more of your refashions and Refashion Runway. Do you think you will bring it back again?

  34. Pingback: What is Refashion Runway Anyway? A Look Back Through the Seasons | The Renegade Seamstress

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.