DIY Nautical Shirt with Fabric Paint


So what does a DIY girl such as myself do when they are feeling nautical?

Refashion of course!

Start with a thrift store t shirt.

 

First, alter your shirt to fit if need be.

(You can find a resizing tutorial here.)

Then for stability and a flat painting surface, slip cut to fit cardboard inside shirt and sleeves.

On the front and back of the shirt and sleeves, draw a line every inch using a fabric marking pen and clear ruler.

Use a small brush to paint your lines.

I used Tulip brand Soft Fabric Paint in Marine Blue. I did water it down a bit. One and a half ounces of the paint did the trick.

Choose a few wooden buttons for the shoulders.

I was lucky enough to get a visit from the Button Fairy a few months ago.

I found three buttons I like and sewed them on one shoulder.

And now I’m ready to launch!!.

I could have bought this shirt at Saint James for $130.00

But instead, thanks to Justine at Sew Country Chick I was inspired to make my own for $1.50.

Priceless! Thanks Justine!!

Some more refashion tutorials you might like:

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Crafting, DIY, fabric, Reconstructed clothing, recycling, Refashion, Refashioning, Sewing, Thrifting, Tutorial, Upcycled clothes, upcycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to DIY Nautical Shirt with Fabric Paint

  1. alicecarman says:

    Just wanted to say I love seeing all your creations! Can’t wait to see the next awesome thing you create. Well done!

  2. ipinterest says:

    Love following your blog; always inspiring! Just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. Check it out here: http://ipinterest.me/2012/06/16/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  3. Looks great Beth! You would look cute next to Gigi!

  4. You are one smart cookie!! This refashion is so clever and cute, as are the rest of them. You need to offer your own Craftsy refashion course – seriously!

    • Thanks so much Sarah!
      I’ve been putting my tutorials on Craftsy, but I haven’t thought of actually teaching a course. Maybe I should look into it. That would be right up my alley! Enjoy your Sunday.
      Beth

  5. Fantastic! Love it. Today is the day (unless something happens) that I make the bleach pen shirt!

  6. okay, now I have another question after reading your response above…..what is Craftsy?

  7. Fabulous, as always!

  8. Cara Olsen says:

    Ahoy! Permission to step aboard? 😉

    Too, too cute! Those buttons embellish the design perfectly.

  9. Boomdeeadda says:

    You always amaze me!

  10. This looks great! I love your blog posts – they are clever AND visually pleasing! Thank you for sharing! x

    • Oh, thanks so much for the encouragement! I have so much fun doing this from start to finish. Then the icing on the cake is getting to know people like you.
      Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!
      Beth

  11. It’s a wonderful thing to have people ask you where you bought your shirt and you be able to say “I made it”- I would totally ask you if I saw you on the street or in the mall. I really enjoy your posts. I’m a fan!

  12. CherryPix says:

    Ahoy…very ship-shape! And making one should be smooth sailing, thanks to your excellent tutorial!

  13. Cathy says:

    Cute! You are set to go boating~

  14. Very cool creation again and again, it’s unending. Of course, because you are really creative and talented. Love them all!!

  15. Rachel says:

    I LOVE this idea… am off to find a plain shirt to update and i KNEW I had all those buttons for some reason!

  16. bernieandi says:

    You are living proof that its possible to look totally stylish even when on a budget. LOVE your projects! 🙂

  17. dosayit says:

    Love the nautical theme. Awesome!

  18. This is a great idea! I’m just getting into thrifting, so this is next on my list on projects. Thanks for sharing!

  19. Sophia says:

    Great tutorial and idea. I’ve seen shirts like this out in the stores… yours looks very similar. Good job!

  20. Pingback: DIY T Shirt Dress | chic envelopements

  21. Pingback: OK, so about that pink belt…… | chic envelopements

  22. Pingback: DIY Ruched Maternity Shirt Tutorial | chic envelopements

  23. starsweare says:

    This is awesome! I’ll have to try…by the way I love the new name of your blog!

  24. shannon mowrer says:

    You are my new hero!!!!

  25. elycaysmum says:

    clever and fabulous!

  26. Marnie says:

    Your a genius!!!! I love your before and afters. Your very creative. Now I can repurpose some of my outdated clothes.

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.