OK, so about that pink belt……


For some reason I’m feeling compelled to either apologize or explain about that pink belt.

Some readers loved it, others hated it, and others very graciously eluded to the fact that it wasn’t their favorite.

Perhaps it’s the fact I hang out with 5 and 6 year olds. Perhaps it was a hasty decision. Perhaps I was racing to get something finished before my fashion photographer had to go to football camp.

There was a beautiful green and a bright yellow shirt sitting on the table screaming to be made into belts for this dress…..but the sun was going down quickly and time for the photo shoot was running out. The pink elastic was handy, ready made and screamed louder than all the rest. So there you have it.

Whatever the reason, I’ve decided to hold my head up high, look at the pink belt for what it is-an accessory option only.

Today, I have more time.

Today my “fashion photographer” is here, sprawled out on the couch, eating ravioli and watching Myth Busters.

Today, I’m going to try to redeem myself.

So for you, my dear readers, here are some other refashioned “accessory options” you might enjoy more than the pink belt.

Start with a yellow thrift store shirt and cut five 2 inch strips a bit longer than the circumference of your waist.

Spread out the strips in one group of 3 and one group of 2.

You will braid the group of 3 once. Always starting with the outside strip.

Then the outside strip will end up over with the other 2 strips. Now braid that once starting with the outside strip. The outside strip you started with with on this side will end up over on the other side to be used in that braid. Keep going back and forth always bringing that outside strip over to the other side each time.

You are basically braiding back and forth, borrowing a strand from the other side each time.

Once you have finished braiding, sew up the end with a zig zag stitch.

Then you can borrow a buckle from a thrift store belt.

Simply cut off the buckle and save the end piece.

Then thread the braided belt through the buckle and glue down with fabric glue.

Next use the end of an old belt and clasp it tight over the end to keep it from fraying.

I will post the finished outfits tomorrow. I accidentally pushed the publish button instead of the preview button before took my after pics. OOPS!

The yellow belt was inspired by Ashley’s 5 Strand Braided Headband. She has a wonderful explanation of the braiding process if you need more help.

You might also like:

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in Crafting, DIY, Reconstructed clothing, recycling, Sewing, Thrifting, Tutorial, Upcycled clothes, upcycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to OK, so about that pink belt……

  1. Ummm . . .love them both! 🙂

    • Oops, I pushed the publish button before I was finished with the post. I don’t have my after photos in yet. I’m trying to figure out if there is a way to “unpublish” without trashing the whole thing.

      • You’ve probably already figured this out, but you can hit “Edit” and make your changes/additions, then hit “Update.” I’ve had to do that before, too! 🙂 Good luck!

        • Thank you, yes, the only thing is, the “after” pictures haven’t been taken yet. Oh well, don’t sweat the small things I always say. No reason I can’t post them tomorrow.

          • Laurel says:

            Totally, you can do it tomrorow! And the people who see it later will see more. I use Windows Live Writer to do all my posts and the great thing is that you do them all in the program, can view, test, etc and when you hit “publish” it uploads the entire post. Making edits to posts that are already live is really easy too. If you are using a PC you should check it out.

            I thought the pink belt was great when I saw it last week! Hot pink is very in this year and not just with the 6 year old girls. 🙂 I do hear you though, I am finding myself wanting to get more and more pink as I dress my daughter in it every day.

            The Yellow belt is AMAZING!! Who knew you could do that with a tshirt!?? The way you can turn something that’s regular into these beautiful creations is so incredible. I have a rope belt from the gap like it that I must have paid $40 for!

  2. nonerzz says:

    I liked the pink belt… It’s cute. Given I’m 22, still quite young, it’s still cute! Don’t apologize, no excuses, do what you want. I like the yellow belt too though!

    • Thanks, I really liked the pink belt, too. I did hope to have my yellow belt after photos in here, too, but I pushed the publish button by accident instead of the preview button. Oops!

  3. I like the pink one too.

  4. I LOVED the pink belt! The yellow belt is nice as well but pink is my favorite color! 🙂

  5. Kelly Y. says:

    I love both belts! Pink was especially awesome.

  6. prttynpnk says:

    I liked both belts, unless you have something in a leopard print, but of course, that’s just me!

  7. Megan says:

    I like the belt! And I can’t stop reading your archives – you do some great refashions!!!

  8. LA Edwards says:

    Okay, first….first time to your site. Fabulous! What a clever idea for making a belt! Awesome. You are a natural. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

  9. Corinne says:

    I like the new belts, but I loved the pink one with the dress. Why? Because that dress needed a really bright splash of color to give it some oomph, but then, my color sense has been greatly influenced by having a young daughter in the house. She would never wear black and white with nothing else to give it some “wow” factor. She hasn’t yet developed a taste for classic chic. 🙂

  10. Karen Schulz says:

    Go the pink belt. I thought it totally made the outfit (and those gorgeous shoes). Being totally coordinated can be incredibly boring!!! I don’t think it is a young persons choice – I think it is a personality choice. Some of my friends would hate the pink, but who cares. Wear it with pizazz. Cheers Karen. http://www.madewithmytwohands.blogspot.com

  11. Lili & Mum's says:

    I like them both. You don’t need to apologize for your fashion choice! I am looking forward to the after pictures.:)

  12. blankenmom says:

    You are so cute! The pink belt worked on you, but I have to admit I like the fancy braid job you did. 😉

    • Oh that’s quite a compliment coming from a woman who wants to scream when they see pink or purple… 🙂 I read your bio. which, BTW, cracked me up, you are an excellent writer!
      Happy Saturday!
      Beth

      • blankenmom says:

        Well gosh – thank you! While I do detest the color, I understand that there are people out there that absolutely adore it and if I like the person, I’ll allow it. xD

        Keep up your great work – I’ve been very inspired!

  13. amysworlds says:

    Wow, that belt was very pink 😛 I like the new braided belt though…might try that sometime as I have an awful time getting belts to fit me!

  14. lostdododesigns says:

    Like many people here I love both of these fun belts. I think you look awesome in the pink belt and you should never apologize for your sassy fashion sense:)

  15. Pingback: DIY Ruched Maternity Shirt Tutorial | chic envelopements

  16. bernieandi says:

    Awesome tutorial. I am really into belts so I will have to try this 🙂
    I am a fan of both belts and I don’t really understand where people were coming from about with the pink one. I love it and you wear it well!

  17. Diane says:

    Here I am almost a year later making a comment – but I have to say that I love the pink belt and the yellow one too! So there! LOL. I love your refashions!

  18. Carmel says:

    I think the pink belt is lovely!

  19. dkasanda says:

    Personally I loved the pink belt, but I bet the yellow belt will be equally as pretty! Thank you for sharing! You have lots of great ideas on your site!

  20. Pingback: Tシャツの再利用アイディア5つ<3> – おくさまん!

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.