One Thrift Store Dress+One Refashion=Three New Looks


Three new looks from one thrift store dress.

Start with this Little House on the Wrinkled Prairie Dress :

Let’s make that into three new looks.

 

This particular thrift store dress gave me the perfect opportunity to try out a peplum.

And there you have it!

A new peplum shirt or pair it with the skirt for the top of a peplum dress.

 

Oops, there goes my photographer experimenting again…

He says, “Hi”, by the way…..

Now onto the paperbag waist skirt tutorial:

Determine how long you’d like your skirt and cut the extra length off from the top. That way you can use the existing hem.

Be sure to leave a two inch opening to thread your elastic.

Then sew the two inch opening closed.

Here’s your new summer skirt.

Happy Fourth of July!!!!

Be safe!

Beth

You might also like:

   

 

 

 

 

  

  

 

  

About The Renegade Seamstress

I'm a busy wife, mom, grandma, and teacher who loves to create. I've joined the refashion scene and I 'd like to share and connect with all those talented and creative people out there doing similar things.
This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing, Thrifting, Tutorial, upcycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to One Thrift Store Dress+One Refashion=Three New Looks

  1. once again…….clever!
    Paula

  2. Thank you for all of your encouraging comments, Paula!
    Happy Independence Day!
    Beth

  3. Lili & Mum's says:

    I came to like your post and saw that you had our blog listed in your side bar. Thanks a bunch! (I still don’t know why the button wouldn’t show up.)

  4. Love this! Great idea 🙂

  5. This is terrific! I really love the shirt especially.

  6. Mother Deer says:

    I particularly like the peplum blouse. It fits well and looks great on you. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. Will you please come and teach me to sew? That’s one crafty thing I can’t seem to wrap my brain around! You are so very clever! LOVE it!

  8. jenyjenny says:

    Awesome! I love them all, you have such a good eye for possibilities. Me, I would have seen it as a find as is, for a pioneer costume.Your tutorials are excellent.

    • Thank you, Jenny! The fun factor just increases the more I do this and I swear I can hear the clothes at the thrift store talking to me now, telling me what they want to be made into for their next life. Weird! 🙂
      Beth

  9. Loving your blog and wish I had the talent to create clothes like you do:) Have a Beautiful Day!

  10. lostdododesigns says:

    You have such a creative eye! I would have just passed by that dress, but you took it an made it something new and refreshing. I love the look with the skirt and red belt. Thanks for sharing!

  11. lisasgarden says:

    I love all your refashioning tutorials. Your results are great, yet they seem within reach of a basic sewer. But where did you sew to “stitch down pleats” for the peplum top?

    • Thanks for your kind comments. I just folded them flat, then pinned and stitched along the bottom hem line. I hope that helps. If not, be sure and let me know and I’ll try to explain it more clearly.
      Beth

  12. wildkatkc says:

    I just found you. I love it here. But what I really love is this Peplum top! I like the skirt too, But oh how I love this top. And I will be following you. Thank you so much… I will be doing this soon.

  13. Kathi says:

    Love that peplum top the best!!

Your comments make me happy!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.